fuse to breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-14, 12:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West
Posts: 261
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
fuse to breaker

Has anyone used jumper wires to connect an older fuse box to a newer small breaker panel
????any links to pics and info???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-14, 12:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,051
Received 370 Votes on 347 Posts
"jumper wires"

It's more than jumper wires. You need to have two fuses in that old fuse box to supply power to the new sub panel. The wire needs to be sized based on the sub panel and the fuses size.
You also need a neutral and a ground wire to your new sub panel.
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-14, 03:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
I doubt that this is done much. Normally a larger panel is installed so everything is on a breaker and not split between breakers and fuses.
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-14, 07:55 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
If you still have fuses, the service is at least 50 years old and probably needs to be entirely replaced.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: