Running power to shed

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-14, 01:00 PM
Mike1555's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running power to shed

I have a shed pretty close to the house. I want some 120 power into the shed for nothing else than a 60 w light bulb and a socket for trickle charging my tractor battery. Question is, I have a junction box about 4 ft away from the shed and was thinking I should run some electrical conduit down from that box under ground and up into the floor of the shed OR bring it up the outside side of the shed to a disconnect box. Ckt is on a 20A breaker that runs porch lights and ceiling fans and motion sensor /spot light. Drooping a run to the shed seems like a bad idea?? tx
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-14, 01:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No, it sounds like it would be okay if those are the only loads.
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-14, 01:22 PM
Mike1555's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shed is hardie board. Suggestion for penetration if I use the droop method. Should wire be the underground type?? or use electrical conduit. or both. Tx
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-14, 02:24 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Strongly recommend underground. 24" deep if you use UF-B cable, 18" if you use PVC conduit. All receptacles in the shed need GFCI protection.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-14, 07:09 PM
Mike1555's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
looks like HD has 14/2 50FT for about $29
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-14, 08:23 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,280
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
looks like HD has 14/2 50FT for about $29
That would have to be protected at 15 amps, but your circuit is 20 amps. You would need 12-2 UF cable if that is the route you want to go. I'd use PVC conduit with #12 THHN/THWN separate conductors. In the end it would be a lot easier.
 
  #7  
Old 12-06-14, 09:30 AM
Mike1555's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK... got it! Tx
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: