Running power to shed


  #1  
Old 12-05-14, 12:00 PM
Mike1555's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running power to shed

I have a shed pretty close to the house. I want some 120 power into the shed for nothing else than a 60 w light bulb and a socket for trickle charging my tractor battery. Question is, I have a junction box about 4 ft away from the shed and was thinking I should run some electrical conduit down from that box under ground and up into the floor of the shed OR bring it up the outside side of the shed to a disconnect box. Ckt is on a 20A breaker that runs porch lights and ceiling fans and motion sensor /spot light. Drooping a run to the shed seems like a bad idea?? tx
 
  #2  
Old 12-05-14, 12:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No, it sounds like it would be okay if those are the only loads.
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-14, 12:22 PM
Mike1555's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shed is hardie board. Suggestion for penetration if I use the droop method. Should wire be the underground type?? or use electrical conduit. or both. Tx
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-14, 01:24 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Strongly recommend underground. 24" deep if you use UF-B cable, 18" if you use PVC conduit. All receptacles in the shed need GFCI protection.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-14, 06:09 PM
Mike1555's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
looks like HD has 14/2 50FT for about $29
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-14, 07:23 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,818
Received 108 Votes on 95 Posts
looks like HD has 14/2 50FT for about $29
That would have to be protected at 15 amps, but your circuit is 20 amps. You would need 12-2 UF cable if that is the route you want to go. I'd use PVC conduit with #12 THHN/THWN separate conductors. In the end it would be a lot easier.
 
  #7  
Old 12-06-14, 08:30 AM
Mike1555's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK... got it! Tx
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: