Dimmer switch with no ground connection

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-07-14, 04:28 PM
artieess's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: US-Baltimore, MD Metro Area
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dimmer switch with no ground connection

I have an older dimmer switch that I'm hoping to use as a temperature control for a solderi g iron (like this: $10ish DIY Variable Temp Soldering Iron Controller)
The dimmer does not have a ground wire or ground screw. So my questionsmare (1) do I need to ground the switch; and (2) if so, how do I do that? Thanks

Name:  F1JYLTVFRL5KVEQ.MEDIUM.jpg
Views: 372
Size:  31.2 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-07-14 at 04:49 PM. Reason: Add image to clarify question.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-07-14, 04:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Connect the ground to the the box and receptacle. The dimmer may be mostly plastic which is why there is no ground.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-14, 07:07 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
Connect the ground to the the box and receptacle.
Exactly! Devices mounted to a raised 1900 device cover do not need a hardwired ground wire.
 
  #4  
Old 12-09-14, 03:19 AM
artieess's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: US-Baltimore, MD Metro Area
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thank you

Thanks. I did as Ray advised and everything works just fine. Appreciate the help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: