Dimmer switch with no ground connection


  #1  
Old 12-07-14, 04:28 PM
artieess's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: US-Baltimore, MD Metro Area
Posts: 37
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Dimmer switch with no ground connection

I have an older dimmer switch that I'm hoping to use as a temperature control for a solderi g iron (like this: $10ish DIY Variable Temp Soldering Iron Controller)
The dimmer does not have a ground wire or ground screw. So my questionsmare (1) do I need to ground the switch; and (2) if so, how do I do that? Thanks

Name:  F1JYLTVFRL5KVEQ.MEDIUM.jpg
Views: 543
Size:  31.2 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-07-14 at 04:49 PM. Reason: Add image to clarify question.
  #2  
Old 12-07-14, 04:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Connect the ground to the the box and receptacle. The dimmer may be mostly plastic which is why there is no ground.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-14, 07:07 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
Connect the ground to the the box and receptacle.
Exactly! Devices mounted to a raised 1900 device cover do not need a hardwired ground wire.
 
  #4  
Old 12-09-14, 03:19 AM
artieess's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: US-Baltimore, MD Metro Area
Posts: 37
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thank you

Thanks. I did as Ray advised and everything works just fine. Appreciate the help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: