Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Working space/mounting requirement for manual transfer switches (quick question)

Working space/mounting requirement for manual transfer switches (quick question)

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-07-14, 07:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Working space/mounting requirement for manual transfer switches (quick question)

Hello,

So, I couldn't really find any specific details on this, but, are there any provisions around the working space for a manual transfer switch, where the switch handle on the exterior of the box needs to be accessible?

I have two of these to install, surface mount.

The normal working spare requirements (30" wide, 3ft in front of, 6.5ft height) are all simple, I'm just curious how close the handle can be to the other transfer switch. I'm guessing sufficient room for operation plus a few inches at a minimum.

Additionally, I was planning on mounting this to exposed studs on the unfinished side of an interior wall of a finished basement (large utility room area). Is this allowed, or do I need to put some plywood up first? Couldn't find any details on this either...

Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-07-14, 09:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 417 Votes on 390 Posts
Operating room plus a few inches is fine. Make sure you can get the cover open without hitting the handle of the one next to it.

Plywood on the studs would be the recommended way to mount the switches.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-14, 09:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks.

The covers are hinged on the top of the boxes, so that shouldn't be an issue. I plan on mounting them high enough where I can stand underneath the open covers on the transfer switches, also.
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-14, 05:15 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,958
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
Any operating mechanism like a handle or breaker cannot be higher than 6'-7" to the center.
 
  #5  
Old 12-08-14, 07:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any operating mechanism like a handle or breaker cannot be higher than 6'-7" to the center.
Yeah, that shouldn't be an issue. The top of the box should land around 6'2" off the floor, which should put the center of the handle around 4'8" from the floor.

Thanks!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: