Ser cable

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-08-14, 10:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ser cable

Looking for about 30 feet of SER cable for a 100A subpanel. Looked at our local Lowe's and it was $1.49 per foot for 2-2-2-4 Aluminum and $7.49 per foot for 2-2-2-4 Copper (I think Home Depot ws the same) ...Does that sound about right on prices? I want to do the subpanel correct but that is a big difference in price, is there any benefit on getting the copper?

Copper:
http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?...ductId=4284355

Aluminum:
http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?...ductId=4294349
 

Last edited by parentof3; 12-08-14 at 01:32 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-14, 02:03 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
The ampacity of copper is higher than the same size in aluminum.
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-14, 02:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I didn't even see that.. The copper is rated for 130A and the Aluminum is rated for 100A... I guess I'll go with Aluminum since my subpanel will only be 100A. Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-14, 02:53 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Copper is somewhat less susceptible to corrosion problems, although generally not a big issue for electrical equipment installed in an appropriate weatherproof fashion. Aluminum should be terminated with an anti-oxidation compound whereas copper does not require that step.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-14, 02:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The copper SER is special order and takes weeks so have to get something else. I went to Home Depot and one of their employees showed me a 2/3 NMB copper cable (three #2 conductors and a ground) and said all contractors are using that to feed 100 amp panels but I thought i was rated for only 95 Amps. Can I use this cable?

They also have #2 THHN individual copper wire but not sure on the amp rating on those.

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-14, 02:26 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Yes copper #2/3g NM can be used to feed a 100A panel as long as the run is entirely indoors and protected from damage. The 95A ampacity can be rounded up to the next standard breaker size of 100A.
 
  #7  
Old 12-18-14, 02:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sweet!!...The cable will going up through the attic (joist) (about 20 feet across) and then back down to the supanel on the other wall in the laundry room, so indoors. Would there be need to put it in conduit, if so, what size (2")?
 
  #8  
Old 12-18-14, 02:56 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
The cable does not require any conduit. For protection, it should be secured to "substantial framing members" such as 2x4s where possible. If the cable runs within 7' of the attic access door, or if the attic has permanent stairs, the cable must run the complete length along a 2x4 for protection from getting stepped on.
 
  #9  
Old 12-18-14, 03:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it will be attached to a 2x6 Attic Joist that runs the span of the room.. Thanks again!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: