Swap wires for oven and cooktop

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-14, 11:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sussex County, NJ
Posts: 123
Swap wires for oven and cooktop

Hi,

I got a new wall oven and realized that my current circuit is too small. The old oven ran on a 10 AWG 30 amp, and the new one requires 8 AWG 40 amp.

My cook top I believe requires only 30 amps and is currently on a 40 amp circuit using 6 AWG aluminum. Neither of the wires for the cook top or oven have enough slack to reach the other so I will need junction boxes.

What wire should I use to go from the 6 AWG to the junction box where the factory oven will connect? I have some 8 AWG copper romex lying around, can I use that since it is equivalent to 6 AWG aluminum?

What should I use to splice the copper and aluminum together?

Drawing attached is what I would like to do. Also, I already tried to run a new wire and when I started drilling the hole from the oven area to the basement I found out there is duct work, so no easy way to get wires down there...

Oven is 8.4 KW at 240v
Cook top is 6.4 kw at 240 v

Thanks in advance!!

Name:  IMG_20141212_021229.jpg
Views: 1038
Size:  36.3 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-12-14, 06:24 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
Are the appliances 240V or 120/240V?

The connectors to safely connect the copper to aluminum will probably cost more than just installing a new oven circuit. Do you have attic, crawl or basement access?
 
  #3  
Old 12-12-14, 07:25 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
Can you tell how the existing cables are routed past the ductwork?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'