Swap wires for oven and cooktop


  #1  
Old 12-11-14, 11:16 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sussex County, NJ
Posts: 123
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Swap wires for oven and cooktop

Hi,

I got a new wall oven and realized that my current circuit is too small. The old oven ran on a 10 AWG 30 amp, and the new one requires 8 AWG 40 amp.

My cook top I believe requires only 30 amps and is currently on a 40 amp circuit using 6 AWG aluminum. Neither of the wires for the cook top or oven have enough slack to reach the other so I will need junction boxes.

What wire should I use to go from the 6 AWG to the junction box where the factory oven will connect? I have some 8 AWG copper romex lying around, can I use that since it is equivalent to 6 AWG aluminum?

What should I use to splice the copper and aluminum together?

Drawing attached is what I would like to do. Also, I already tried to run a new wire and when I started drilling the hole from the oven area to the basement I found out there is duct work, so no easy way to get wires down there...

Oven is 8.4 KW at 240v
Cook top is 6.4 kw at 240 v

Thanks in advance!!

Name:  IMG_20141212_021229.jpg
Views: 2568
Size:  36.3 KB
 
  #2  
Old 12-12-14, 06:24 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 9,785
Upvotes: 0
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
Are the appliances 240V or 120/240V?

The connectors to safely connect the copper to aluminum will probably cost more than just installing a new oven circuit. Do you have attic, crawl or basement access?
 
  #3  
Old 12-12-14, 07:25 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,989
Received 202 Upvotes on 176 Posts
Can you tell how the existing cables are routed past the ductwork?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: