Help idenitfy Weatherhead problem

Closed Thread

Old 12-12-14, 07:50 AM
Help idenitfy Weatherhead problem

Hi, lights have been flickering for a few weeks now and today I noticed what I believe to be a problem with the weatherhead. I'm no pro, but I'm pretty confident with electrical work inside the home. Outside, I know enough to know not to mess with it and I will be hiring a pro, but want to better understand the nature of the problem.

Questions
1. Can you confirm there is a problem and describe the nature of the problem? The "U" attachment seems to have broken off.

2. My responsibility to fix or power company? (I'm pretty sure it's mine).

3. I don't know the hardware involved, but it seems to me some kind of bolt holding the "U" in place has rusted off, or maybe I have no idea what I'm talking about. The question is, will the electrician need to have the power turned off to fix this or will this just require a mechanical connection? Or even in the case of mechanical would you always just turn the power off for safety?

4. I am going to get on this immediately, but how bad does it look? Am I endanger of something snapping or losing power any minute?

5. Any ball park idea what I should expect to have to pay to have this fixed? I haven't really had to call an electrician before and I know they deserve fair pay, but I don't want to get gouged.

Pictures:

http://i971.photobucket.com/albums/a...atherhead4.jpg
http://i971.photobucket.com/albums/a...atherhead3.jpg
http://i971.photobucket.com/albums/a...atherhead2.jpg
http://i971.photobucket.com/albums/a...atherhead1.jpg

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 12-12-14, 08:00 AM
Group Moderator
In the picture... you have a service hook issue. That is the power company problem.
The actual weatherhead is your responsibility.

Call the power company, emergency repairs, and tell them your service drop is detached from the house.

Name:  weatherhead1.jpg
Views: 5489
Size:  48.4 KB

Old 12-12-14, 08:05 AM
Forum Topic Moderator