Outlet issues

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-12-14, 05:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outlet issues

All my kitchen outlets do not work, my cheap meter says there is 118 V but nothing plugged in works. Any ideas? Checked the breaker box and it shows the same volts leaving the breaker. Could this be a ground issue?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-12-14, 06:05 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the forums! What type instrument are you measuring voltage with? An analog meter is best for DIY work. About $10 at the box stores. I doubt it is a grounding problem, but it could be a neutral problem. Are you measuring at a GFCI receptacle? What are you measuring between? Hot and neutral or hot and ground?
 
  #3  
Old 12-12-14, 06:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,943
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
The loss of a ground will not stop the circuit from working.
 
  #4  
Old 12-12-14, 10:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Measuring ground to hot, no GFI. Would checking between the hot and neutral indicate if there is a problem?
 
  #5  
Old 12-12-14, 11:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 46
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, you should be checking hot-to-neutral (the two blades, not the ground). Are you checking both top and bottom of your kitchen plugs? Kitchen circuits are supposed to be separated - top and bottom should be on two different circuits. If both are out, you likely have a missing neutral.

Edit: you should also read around 240V if you measure between the two hot spades.
 
  #6  
Old 12-13-14, 12:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,116
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
Matt..... I believe the split receptacle method is code in Canada but is not usually used here in the States.
 
  #7  
Old 12-13-14, 08:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 46
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ah, did not know that, PJ. Good to know. And still worth checking for
 
  #8  
Old 12-13-14, 09:46 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Measuring ground to hot, no GFI. Would checking between the hot and neutral indicate if there is a problem?
Yes! If measuring hot to ground gives you 118 volts and nothing works when plugged in, you have probably lost the neutral.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: