Service upgrade and ground rod

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-13-14, 02:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 305
Service upgrade and ground rod

About two years ago I upgraded here in NY from 100 amps to 200 amps. I just noticed something that looks quite strange to me. They used the old ground rod with new ground wire and then they ran another ground wire from the old one approximately 6 feet away from the original ground rod and buried it about two inches below ground. I always assumed there was a second ground rod but realized there was not a second ground rod, just the wire buried two inches below ground. My first question is, is this normal and acceptable? My second question is do you have to have a second ground rod with 200 amps?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-14, 04:09 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Last question first:
It is not required to have two ground rods because you have a 200 amp service. Some places require two ground rods where there is poor soil and can not get to the required less than 25 Ohms of resistance. Some contractors do not have the equipment to do the resistance test, or just find it easier to just drive another rod. In our area (MN) we do not need to run two rods unless there is not a primary ground (UFER, water service, etc) to bond to. The ground rod is considered a supplemental ground.

Not really sure why they ran a wire but did not install a rod. Either they didn't have to install an additional rod, or they forgot. I suggest either calling them and find out whats up, or just drive your own.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-14, 04:45 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I hate to be the pessimist on this, but sometimes things are done to hoodwink people. The wire could have been run over and buried so it looked as if a supplemental rod was driven, when, in fact it was not. Inspector saw it, and was satisfied, assuming the rod was driven where the electrode went into the dirt. I'd check with the electrician. He may say "Oops". Driving a grounding rod is a breeze for the first 5' with a fence post driver. It's the last 3 feet that tries men's souls At least here in red Georgia clay.
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-14, 01:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 305
Larry, I was thinking the same thing. I probably will just go get another ground rod and drive one in this summer on my own or reach out to the electrician.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'