4 wire or 3 wire?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-13-14, 04:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
4 wire or 3 wire?

Hello all,

I have 200amp meter main with distribution lugs (post mounted/freestanding), my house has been wired and now I am ready to pull the line in underground from the meter main to the house panel. There are ground rods at the meter main and also a ufer ground at the house panel. Do I only need to install two hot legs and a neutral or do I also need a ground wire ran from the meter main to the house panel? The meter main is approx. 50' from the house panel.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-14, 05:13 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,966
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Is sounds to me that your pole mounted panel is the main for the property. That would make the house panel a sub panel detached from the main "building". You need 4 wires.
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-14, 09:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response, I know I can buy some 4/0 4/0 2/0 aluminum URD at the local home improvement store. Would it be acceptable to buy a separate #4bare solid copper wire to run with the triplex in the same 2" conduit? This is a 200amp house panel that it will be feeding.
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-14, 05:58 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,051
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
3-wire URD is intended for direct burial and is extremely difficult to pull into conduit because of the way the three conductors are twisted. I would suggest just buying the 4-wire mobile home feeder and direct burying it to the house.

Shop 4/0-4/0-4/0-2/0 Aluminum Mobile Home Feeder Service Entrance Cable (By-the-Foot) at Lowes.com

If the soil is rocky and it must be in conduit, I wouldn't even attempt to pull it into anything smaller than 3" PVC.
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-14, 07:43 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,944
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
If using a complete conduit and not just conduit sleeves when coming out of the ground it will be individual conductors.
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-14, 02:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great thanks, Does anyone know if the first 18" of conduit coming up out of the ground needs to be schedule 80? Right now I am planning on using schedule 40 grey electrical pvc conduit but I thought I read somewhere that the first 18" needs to be schedule 80 pvc? This will be the stand pipe coming up out of the ground and going to the bottom of the LB.

Thank you!!
 
  #7  
Old 12-14-14, 02:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just to add a little info to my last question, this is not on the utility company side, this is after the meter so I am looking for NEC requirements to the last question.

Thanks again
 
  #8  
Old 12-14-14, 03:18 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,966
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
If the area where the conduit is to be installed is subject to physical damage (vehicle traffic, weed whips, rambunctious kids, etc.) then Sch 80 is required. Otherwise Sch 40 is fine.
 
  #9  
Old 12-14-14, 04:41 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,051
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
If the area where the conduit is to be installed is subject to physical damage (vehicle traffic, weed whips, rambunctious kids, etc.) then Sch 80 is required.
Is that an NEC requirement or just a good recommendation?
 
  #10  
Old 12-14-14, 05:35 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,029
Received 18 Votes on 18 Posts
Alot of times it is the POCO's call,riser must be away from traffic on the pole and a min. Of 8' above grade, but in this case the 8' would not apply.
Geo
 
  #11  
Old 12-14-14, 08:06 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,051
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Alot of times it is the POCO's call,riser must be away from traffic on the pole and a min. Of 8' above grade, but in this case the 8' would not apply.
Geo
The utility company isn't involved with this, this is between the disconnect at the pole and the subpanel at the house.
 
  #12  
Old 12-15-14, 08:04 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,966
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Is that an NEC requirement or just a good recommendation?
It is a NEC requirement per 352.10(F)

Conduits installed on poles are required to be PVC Sch 80, RMC, IMC, or equivalent. 300.50(C)
 
  #13  
Old 12-15-14, 08:15 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,051
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Thanks TI. I wasn't familiar with that provision.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: