gfci circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-14, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
gfci circuit

Hello,
I have a gfci problem I am hoping to get some help with. In my breaker box, I have a single gfci breaker. On that circuit, I know of 4 receptacles. I have 2 in 2 bathrooms, one on the front porch and 1 on the back porch. I have not been able to find any others. All of these receptacles are the newer style gfci with same color buttons, but no lights on them. The one on the back porch has all of our Christmas lights currently plugged in. They are all led, so not a huge load by any means.

A few days ago all of these receptacles stopped working. In the past when this would happen, I was able to reset the gfci in one of the bathrooms and it would be fine. This time, I have not been able to do that. When I press the reset button on any the receptacles, it will not click back on.

I pulled all of the receptacles and checked. None of them are showing power. My current assumption is that there is another receptacle somewhere that I am unaware of that has tripped. My question is about how this is wired. My limited knowledge is that these should not be wired in-line if they are all going to have gfci receptacles. Once I find the presumably first in the series, should I rewire these to not be in line with each other?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-14-14, 01:04 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Redundant gfi protection is not needed. Receptacles wired from the load terminals can be gfi protected.

I cannot understand if each of your receptacles are gfis or just downstream from one.

Have you tried to unplug everything and then reset the gfi?

GFI's to not trip from overloads.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-14, 01:07 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
GFCI's don't trip on overload, only on ground fault, so your load won't matter. If you are not getting power to one or more of the GFCI receptacles, a breaker has tripped. Sometimes they won't look tripped. Turn the associated breaker all the way off , then back on, then reset the GFCI. You don't want a GFCI feeding a GFCI. You will have nuisance trips. You should feed a GFCI, then feed the other receptacles (non-GFCI) from the LOAD screws of the fed GFCI. What does the GFCI breaker serve, and what is its amperage?

Jim types faster than me.
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-14, 04:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Sorry, I was trying to be as descriptive as possible. I understand that they do not trip from overload. I was just pointing out that I was not overloading it by putting to many lights on it.

All of the receptacles on this circuit are gfci as well the breaker. I found one other gfci receptacle in the garage that was tripped. Once I reset that one, I was able to reset all the others in the correct order and they came back online.

It seems that you are both confirming what I thought. So what is my best course of action. Should I replace the gfci breaker with a standard breaker, then rewire all of the gfci receptacles so they are not inline with each other (only connected on the load side), or should I leave the gfci breaker and replace all the receptacles with standard non gfci receptacles? Or is there something else I should do to correct this issue?

Thanks for the help.
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-14, 04:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,047
Replace with non GFCI receptacles and label each receptacle GFCI Protected.
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-14, 05:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Easy enough. I will get them replaced. Thank you.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes