Bathroom switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-14, 11:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Exclamation Bathroom switch

in Order to turn on my bathroom Light I have to flip the switch several times The Switch also controls a Bathroom fan and an GFCI outlet the outlet dose not Work. HELP PLEASE.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-14, 11:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,191
Welcome to the forums.

You'll need to clarify a bit. The switch operates the bathroom light and fan. You have to flip it a few times for the light and fan to work. That sounds like a bad switch.

Are you saying that the switch controls the receptacle too ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-14, 10:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
the switch controls the receptacle also,
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-14, 10:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Turn off the power to this circuit, remove the faceplate from the switch, remove the mounting screws and gently pull the switch and attached wires from the box.

Take some pictures of the mess being sure to get them from a couple of different angles and make sure the pictures are well lit and in focus. Post those pictures.

Also describe in detail the wire colors, how many of each and how they are connected to each other as well as the switch.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-14, 02:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
I'll see if I can do it Thanks.....................................................................
 
  #6  
Old 12-23-14, 12:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Reply

Sorry for the Long wait I work 12 hr shifts all the time and my weekends are sometimes Iffy. the wires are plugged into the holes in the back not screws. so tomorrow I am turning the power off the the bathroom and going to rout the wires to the screws. I will keep you posted on the outcome, :No Beer 4U:
 
  #7  
Old 12-23-14, 06:21 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6,133
No. Wait. Do as Furd asked. Take the pics first before removing wires. Let us see what's going on.
 
  #8  
Old 12-27-14, 02:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
re Bathroom switch

OK Norm Ferd Camera is not Working. so best description White wire is screwed into hot lead on Right side top Black wire is pushed into the hole next to it Black ground wire is screwed into Right side Bottom. Next GFCI outlet White wire plugged into Right side Bottom Black Wire Plugged into Left side Bottom,
 
  #9  
Old 12-27-14, 03:08 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,590
Top and bottom are irrelevant on devices as there is no standardized way of installation. What is important is colors of terminals and the wires connected to them.

I suspect the back stab is failing on the switch.
 
  #10  
Old 12-27-14, 03:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
wow ok so unplug the wire from the Back stab and Place it on the left side screw,
 
  #11  
Old 12-27-14, 04:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
now When I Turn on the Switch the Light goes on and when I turn off the switch the fan goes on HMM,
 
  #12  
Old 12-27-14, 05:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Ok after watching a youtube Video I Have the 2 Black Wires together on top left and white wire on top right. according to what I just Watched this should work. Please reply ASAP,
 
  #13  
Old 12-27-14, 05:34 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
I just skimmed through this. I would say we need a better description of the wires involved. Let me try to help you describe.

A Cable is normally 3 wires, a black - white - bare ground.
A Cable can also be 4 wires, a black - white - red - bare ground.
(there are others but let's leave it at just those)

The bare grounds are ignored for identification purposes so:

You have 12/2, or you have 12/3 cable in your walls.

So can you describe how many cables are in each box.
Also try to describe where each individual wire from each cable goes.
 
  #14  
Old 12-27-14, 06:07 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
I Have the 2 Black Wires together on top left and white wire on top right. according to what I just Watched this should work.
As has already been written there is no top or bottom left or right so please stop thinking in those terms. It doesn't help you.

If this is not a 3-way switch it does not mater which screw is which. If it is not a 3-way switch and you have two wires to one terminal it is important they continue to remain together.

With a GFCI receptacle you have a line side with a brass and silver terminal and a load side with brass and silver terminals. The neutral wire always goes to silver. Brass is for any wire not a neutral. Power in must always go to the line side. The receptacle will not work if you connect power to the load side.

In what ways do the cables and devices in your switch box vary from the diagram below?

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 116
Size:  18.1 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-27-14 at 06:23 PM.
  #15  
Old 12-28-14, 01:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
I Have 1 White and 2 Black wires there is a bare ground wire it is hooked to to receptacle Box

the switch has 1 white 2 black
the GFCI has 1 White 2 Black
 
  #16  
Old 12-28-14, 02:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
Having trouble understanding your post. Do you have cable or conduit? If you have cable please tell us how many cables in the switch box.
the switch has 1 white 2 black
the GFCI has 1 White 2 Black
If cable you have the same number of blacks as whites. Please tell us all the wires in the box.

Please reread post #13 and look at the diagram in #14 before answering.
 
  #17  
Old 12-29-14, 09:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
CABLE there is 1 white wire and 2 black wires ??
 
  #18  
Old 12-29-14, 09:34 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
CABLE there is 1 white wire and 2 black wires ??
No. A cable will have one black wire and one white wire or if 3-conductir cable one white, one black, one red.

Do you have three cables into the box? Could it be one of the cables has a white wire cut off? Is the fan and light separate or a combined unit?

Cable:
Name:  GemBoxRomexCable-Copyright-IMG_1136-460x613.jpg
Views: 89
Size:  19.2 KB

Conduit:
Name:  2008095902.jpg
Views: 123
Size:  33.0 KB

Images may be copyrighted. Sources:

Conduit-seattletimes.com
Romex-mrelectrician.tv
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-29-14 at 01:14 PM.
  #19  
Old 12-30-14, 03:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
now you got me. the fan and light are separate The Light is over the Mirror and the fan is in the ceiling,
 
  #20  
Old 12-30-14, 05:45 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You can't take a picture with your phone, send it to your computer as an email and post it here?
 
  #21  
Old 12-30-14, 07:48 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
Using the pictures above can you verify you have cable not conduit? If you have cables can you at least tell us how many cables into the switch box? We need the answer to that question and more before we can help you.

Your answers so far have not made sense based on expected wiring so we need to try to sort this out. Please answer the questions about the switch box and we will go from there.
 
  #22  
Old 12-30-14, 03:15 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
When I Turn on the Switch the Light goes on and when I turn off the switch the fan goes on
Excuse me for jumping in. You really need to post a few pictures. The above statement, this can't happen with a single pole switch.
Do you have two doors leading to the bathroom? Are the lights (and other stuff) controlled by two switches?
 
  #23  
Old 12-30-14, 04:08 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,590
If the light and fan were wired off the travelers of a 3 way switch it would operate that way. You would always have one or the other on.
 
  #24  
Old 12-30-14, 04:59 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
If the light and fan were wired off the travelers of a 3 way switch it would operate that way.
Interesting thought. Of course not correct but almost nothing in the description sounds correct so far.

bks2014, after answering my previous questions tell us if the switch has a black or dark gray screw?
 
  #25  
Old 12-30-14, 05:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 11
no just one switch................................................................................
 
  #26  
Old 12-30-14, 06:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
It is becoming frustrating to help you because you are not answering most of our questions. Please go back and make a list of them the post the questions and answers.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes