Issue: Decomissioning a Light Switch Broke Second Outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-16-14, 11:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Question Issue: Decomissioning a Light Switch Broke Second Outlet

THE SETUP

In the master bedroom I've got two nightstands, and each nightstand has an outlet behind it. The right outlet has two 'hot' plugs and the left outlet has a 'hot' plug on the bottom, and a switched plug on the top. The light switch in the room controls the top plug only.

THE GOAL

I am trying to replace both outlets with new USB outlets that contain two USB plugs and two regular plugs all in one outlet (very convenient). I no longer need the switch enabled and would like the left outlet to be fully 'hot'.

HOW FAR I'VE GOTTEN...

I replaced the right outlet and everything went perfect! No issues.

I went to replace the left outlet and uncovered 6 wires going into this one. I was hoping I could simply use the wires going into the bottom 'hot' plug and cap off the remaining wires. This worked! However, now the right outlet no longer works. It is essentially a dead outlet now.

The left outlet works great, but the right is broken. I am assuming these are daisy chained together, however I can't figure out why the right stopped working...any advice?

(I've attached a photo of the left outlet with the plugs going into the new USB outlet. I capped off the extra wires shown. The house is relatively new so there should be no issues with old wiring.)Name:  IMG_4165.jpg
Views: 296
Size:  40.5 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-16-14, 11:30 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
Try this at the receptacle in the picture:
Cap the red.
Pigtail all blacks to the receptacle.
Pigtail all whites to the receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-14, 11:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 11
I'll try it out this afternoon and let you know how it goes....thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 12-16-14, 11:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Either the electrical code or the building code mandates that you have a switch at the door that controls either a fixed light or a switched receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 12-16-14, 02:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Cool Fixed!

Thanks for the advice Ray2047, everything is up and running again! Attached the after photos of my pigtailing work. I also plan to repurpose that light switch to operate the overhead ceiling light...so don't worry Furd

Name:  IMG_4195.jpg
Views: 177
Size:  34.7 KB

Name:  IMG_4196.jpg
Views: 203
Size:  28.9 KB
 
  #6  
Old 12-16-14, 02:31 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
Good work. The red wire also needs to be capped at the switch. Be sure to replace
the tape with a wire nut after testing.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-16-14 at 06:20 PM.
  #7  
Old 12-16-14, 03:25 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
That looks like good clean work. It's helps to be detail oriented when it comes to electric.

Not to harp on it, but try to get the ceiling light configured soon.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes