Issue: Decomissioning a Light Switch Broke Second Outlet


  #1  
Old 12-16-14, 10:12 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Issue: Decomissioning a Light Switch Broke Second Outlet

THE SETUP

In the master bedroom I've got two nightstands, and each nightstand has an outlet behind it. The right outlet has two 'hot' plugs and the left outlet has a 'hot' plug on the bottom, and a switched plug on the top. The light switch in the room controls the top plug only.

THE GOAL

I am trying to replace both outlets with new USB outlets that contain two USB plugs and two regular plugs all in one outlet (very convenient). I no longer need the switch enabled and would like the left outlet to be fully 'hot'.

HOW FAR I'VE GOTTEN...

I replaced the right outlet and everything went perfect! No issues.

I went to replace the left outlet and uncovered 6 wires going into this one. I was hoping I could simply use the wires going into the bottom 'hot' plug and cap off the remaining wires. This worked! However, now the right outlet no longer works. It is essentially a dead outlet now.

The left outlet works great, but the right is broken. I am assuming these are daisy chained together, however I can't figure out why the right stopped working...any advice?

(I've attached a photo of the left outlet with the plugs going into the new USB outlet. I capped off the extra wires shown. The house is relatively new so there should be no issues with old wiring.)Name:  IMG_4165.jpg
Views: 347
Size:  40.5 KB
 
  #2  
Old 12-16-14, 10:30 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Try this at the receptacle in the picture:
Cap the red.
Pigtail all blacks to the receptacle.
Pigtail all whites to the receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-14, 10:35 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll try it out this afternoon and let you know how it goes....thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 12-16-14, 10:49 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Either the electrical code or the building code mandates that you have a switch at the door that controls either a fixed light or a switched receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 12-16-14, 01:22 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool Fixed!

Thanks for the advice Ray2047, everything is up and running again! Attached the after photos of my pigtailing work. I also plan to repurpose that light switch to operate the overhead ceiling light...so don't worry Furd

Name:  IMG_4195.jpg
Views: 199
Size:  34.7 KB

Name:  IMG_4196.jpg
Views: 249
Size:  28.9 KB
 
  #6  
Old 12-16-14, 01:31 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Good work. The red wire also needs to be capped at the switch. Be sure to replace
the tape with a wire nut after testing.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-16-14 at 05:20 PM.
  #7  
Old 12-16-14, 02:25 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That looks like good clean work. It's helps to be detail oriented when it comes to electric.

Not to harp on it, but try to get the ceiling light configured soon.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: