Surge Protector with 50 foot Cable?

Old 12-16-14, 12:08 PM
Surge Protector with 50 foot Cable?

I need a surge protector with at least 50 feet of cable but I can't find one anywhere. I am concerned about using a extension cord with a 25' surge protector because I'm no electrician and I'm not sure if it is safe.
Can anyone offer any insight to my solution?
Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-16-14, 12:12 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Use a surge suppressor at the female end of a standard cord rated for your usage.

Old 12-16-14, 12:40 PM
Is there a difference between a surge suppressor and a surge protector?
Also should the standard cord be rated for usage or the suppressor?

Old 12-16-14, 05:07 PM
What are you protecting? Why do you need a 50' extension cord? Have you calculated any voltage drop? You are protecting what is at the far end of the extension cord. No worries until it all culminates at the end where whatever it is you are protecting is sitting. The cord doesn't care about surges.

Old 12-16-14, 06:32 PM
Is there a difference between a surge suppressor and a surge protector?
No, but there is a huge difference between a surge suppressor and a surge strip. Are you looking for a surge strip with a 50 foot cord? Most surge suppressors are either point-of-use devices or whole house devices.

Old 12-16-14, 09:58 PM
What are you're planning on doing with this?

I am concerned about using a extension cord with a 25' surge protector because I'm no electrician and I'm not sure if it is safe.

Don't. It is against code to plug a relocatable power tap (power strip) into an extension cord or other relocatable power tap. It must be plugged directly into the wall.

I am thinking the o/p is confusing a surge protector for a power strip.

Old 12-17-14, 06:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator