I need help providing power to a motherboard

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-17-14, 07:10 AM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Exclamation I need help providing power to a motherboard

Hi all,
I have a netbook motherboard that I am messing around with.
It's DC jack broke of a few years ago, and it has never tasted power ever since.
I was wondering if there is a way I could power the board (without all the power consuming things) with a USB cable?
And also, I am new to electrical, dont know how to solder, is there an easy guide to soldering, and what type of cable do I need to permanently get this thing fixed?
Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-17-14, 07:27 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
Replacing the DC jack is probably the most common repair on notebook computers. Youtube is full of videos of that exact repair for all sorts of makes and models.
 
  #3  
Old 12-18-14, 03:37 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
i am trying to convert it to a desktop, is there a power cable I can solder on to the board to provide power?
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-14, 04:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
You would have to know the voltage and amperage that the notebook required. You can post the model number and we can check.

It would need an AC adapter...... probably like 18vdc 2.5A
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-14, 04:23 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Thanks, The laptop is an acer aspire one ZG5 AOA110
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-14, 04:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
That requires a 19vdc 1.58a adapter.

Amazon has a bargain on one.... Usually they're $50-$100
Replacement-Adapter-Aspire-AOA110-Current/dp/B0036ERBAO

You'll probably be cutting the plug off. The center pin of the plug is positive. That means the positive wire of the adapter goes to where the center pin of the jack was.
Connecting the adapter backwards could be hazardous to the computers health.
 
  #7  
Old 12-18-14, 04:30 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
I already have a power adapter, can I somehow connect it?
NOTE: The DC Jack is broken, and I dont want one, can I maybe skin the power cable and solder it directly on?
 
  #8  
Old 12-18-14, 04:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
I'm guessing it's the correct adapter for that computer.

Cut the plug off. Strip the wires. Keep them separated. Plug the adapter in and check for polarity with a voltmeter. The positive wire connects to the board where the center pin was connected.

Solder carefully so that no shorts are created. The foils on the board are not terribly strong so you will need a way to take the strain of the wire off the board.
 
  #9  
Old 12-18-14, 04:41 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Ok thanks so much, will try when I get my hands on a solder kit.
Yes, it is the one that came with the laptop.
 
  #10  
Old 12-18-14, 04:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
Ok... cool. If you look at the board and can't see the connections.... take a good, well lit, close up picture of that corner and post it.
 
  #11  
Old 12-18-14, 04:48 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Sorry if Im pestering you, but is it possible i can just place the ends of the wire on the connections and then test if it works briefly as I wont have access to solder kit for a few weeks.
 
  #12  
Old 12-18-14, 04:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
That can be done but you need to be careful not to touch the wires to the wrong foils or you can damage the computer.
 
  #13  
Old 12-18-14, 04:54 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Thank you very much sir,
I am a computer hobbyist who has never done anything like this, and I just wanted to say thanks for providing so great help and putting it in plain terms so that a noob like me can understand it!

I will try that and get back to you, I'll probably need connection help.
 
  #14  
Old 12-18-14, 05:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
No problem. Glad to help.

You're starting to learn on a laptop. I started with a 5 tube table radio.
 
  #15  
Old 12-19-14, 12:59 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Is this where I cut it?:
Name:  Photo on 2014-12-19 at 3.51 PM.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  23.4 KB
And also when you said stripping the wires, did you mean taking of the protective covering on them?
Thanks
 
  #16  
Old 12-19-14, 01:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
Normally you would cut it right at the plug but that won't leave you enough to work with..... so cut it at your line.

Name:  images.jpg
Views: 109
Size:  6.4 KB
 
  #17  
Old 12-19-14, 01:10 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Ok thanks,
I'm not sure what you meant when you said strip the wire, could you please explain?
 
  #18  
Old 12-19-14, 01:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
The picture in post 16 shows how the wire should look after you remove the insulation.

Strip insulation = remove insulation
 
  #19  
Old 12-19-14, 01:20 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Oh, Ok thanks, I'll try when i get the chance and post back my progress.
 
  #20  
Old 12-19-14, 01:37 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
I stripped a tiny piece to test, this is what I got:
Name:  Photo on 2014-12-19 at 4.38 PM.jpg
Views: 109
Size:  24.1 KB
Is it supposed to be like that?
 
Attached Images  
  #21  
Old 12-19-14, 02:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
Yes.... you can trim the plastic wrap and the outer jacket leaving you the two wires to be stripped.
 
  #22  
Old 12-19-14, 04:14 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Is the plastic wrap the white covering thing with cables inside?
 
  #23  
Old 12-19-14, 04:23 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
are these the two cables? if it is, do i need to skin the white wrapping on the 1st one?Name:  Photo on 2014-12-19 at 7.21 PM.jpg
Views: 95
Size:  23.0 KB
 
  #24  
Old 12-19-14, 04:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
The wrap is hard to see in the picture but you want to end up with two pieces of wire. Any extra filler that was inside the cable can be cut off.
 
  #25  
Old 12-19-14, 04:55 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
So the white cable is the one i skin to get two pieces of wire?
And what is filler?
 
  #26  
Old 12-19-14, 05:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,644
Filler is material that is in the cable to give it its shape, like stuffing in a rag doll or a pillow.
 
  #27  
Old 12-19-14, 05:03 PM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Oh, i think im starting to understand.
There is a shiny cable wire entwined around a white wire.
Is that the wrap?
I separated them, now I have two cables (is the wrap a wire?)
The 1st wire that is white has something inside, do I need to skin the white wire?
Thanks.
 
  #28  
Old 12-19-14, 09:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
That could very well be a shielded cable. In that case the white is your + wire and the shield or bare wire is the ground.
 
  #29  
Old 12-20-14, 05:32 AM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
The "wrap" i am talking about can be split in to about 16 wires just by ruffling them, I don't think im on the right path.
So, my theory is If I skin the white wire (very, very thin) I will get the two wires?
Is this true?
 
  #30  
Old 12-20-14, 09:07 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
I don't know for sure. There are many types of wires used for power cords. It sounds to me like the white wire may be the only actual insulated wire and the stranded wire is your negative line.
 
  #31  
Old 12-20-14, 09:25 AM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
I've finally gotten the two cables (I think) 1 is the stranded wire, and when I skinned the white wire, there was more stranded wire inside it.
So how do I connect it to the board?

Here's a pic:
Name:  Photo on 2014-12-20 at 12.22 PM.jpg
Views: 72
Size:  38.0 KB

Name:  Photo on 2014-12-20 at 12.26 PM.jpg
Views: 66
Size:  21.2 KB
 
  #32  
Old 12-20-14, 09:30 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
I need a close up pic of just the jack area. Put the board down, shine a light on it but watch the glare and set the camera to macro mode so that you can get real close.

Name:  Photo on 2014-12-20 at 12.22 PM.jpg
Views: 72
Size:  23.6 KB
 
  #33  
Old 12-20-14, 09:30 AM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Ok, Im taking one now, will post in 5 mins
 
  #34  
Old 12-20-14, 09:37 AM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
ugh slow internet almost done
 
  #35  
Old 12-20-14, 09:41 AM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Name:  20141220_123411 copy.jpg
Views: 76
Size:  32.8 KB
Here you go,
Hopefully better.
 
  #36  
Old 12-20-14, 09:52 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
That is a perfect picture. Can you take one of the other side too.... I can't tell which the jack was in.
 
  #37  
Old 12-20-14, 09:55 AM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Do you mean flip over the board and take a pic of the dc jack area again?
 
  #38  
Old 12-20-14, 10:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
Yes..................that is correct.
 
  #39  
Old 12-20-14, 10:00 AM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
.........
.......
.........
.............
.................
...................
....................
.....................
......................
 

Last edited by MaskedSolder; 12-20-14 at 10:16 AM.
  #40  
Old 12-20-14, 10:14 AM
MaskedSolder's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
oh sorry never mind it was on the other side, do you want a pic of the other side
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'