Grounding Detatched Garage Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-18-14, 06:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grounding Detatched Garage Circuit

My house was built in the 1950's. The panels were recently updated (before I moved in this past summer) with 240V AND 120V service. Almost every breaker on the 120V panel is a GFCI breaker. Some wiring in the house has been updated, but the detached garage has older 2-conductor wiring running underground from the panel into the garage and up into a junction box. The box has a pair of ungrounded (2-prong) receptacles and then the wiring continues to a pair of switches and overhead lighting. I'd like to update the receptacles at the junction box to three-prong grounded, so that I don't need to use an adapter for a shop light, power tools, etc. The garage circuit is on a 20 amp GFCI breaker. Is it possible (or even necessary) to ground this circuit from the box to a ground rod? Or would it be just as well to update the receptacles to three prong with an open ground since the circuit is on a GFCI breaker? I had an electrician come take a look at the home when I moved in, and apparently having either the first receptacle in a circuit be a GFCI unit, or putting the entire circuit on a GFCI breaker is up to code where I live.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-18-14, 06:58 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is it possible (or even necessary) to ground this circuit from the box to a ground rod?
No and no plus a code violation.
Or would it be just as well to update the receptacles to three prong with an open ground since the circuit is on a GFCI breaker?
That would be the code approved way. Each receptacle would have to be marked GFCI Protected - No Ground. I would though be concerned how power was run to the garage and if the materials used were past their expected life span and a problem waiting to happen.
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-14, 12:39 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 32 Votes on 27 Posts
The ground rod has nothing to do with the third prong on a receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: