gfci keeps tripping

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-19-14, 06:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
gfci keeps tripping

I have an old power strip from a work bench that I put in my shed. It is on a gfci circuit. I hooked everything up and it immediately tripped. I cannot find what is wrong. With no power hooked to the power strip the breaker will trip as soon as I hook the neutral and ground up in the breaker box. I cannot figure out what would trip the gfci. the only power into the shed is from one source. only 3 wires coming in. Hot, neutral and ground. why would the gfci trip with only neutral and ground connected.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-19-14, 07:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 487
Where is the gfci in relation to the power strip? Is it a breaker or a receptacle you're connecting to?

Check your power strip. If the neutral and ground are connected together you'll trip a gfci.
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-14, 07:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
It is a breaker. the strip is not grounded. the power goes from the breaker to an outside plug, then from the outside plug into a 15 amp breaker box and the non grounded strip is run off that breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 12-19-14, 07:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,047
If the GFCI doesn't trip with the power strip not plugged in then it is the power strip.
 
  #5  
Old 12-19-14, 07:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
There is a 220 plug in the strip that is hooked up but not in use. It uses the neutral as a ground. the entire strip is built into metal boxes connected with emt. Would the 220 plug be my issue due to the neutral being ground on that?
 
  #6  
Old 12-19-14, 07:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,047
What you described in your last post is not what I call a power strip. It would be a code violation to connect a neutral and ground. That connection is what is tripping the GFCI and is a serious safety hazard.

There is a 220 plug in the strip
Never saw one of those.

Please fill in your location information. Your last post left me thinking you weren't in the U.S. till I ran your IP.
 
  #7  
Old 12-19-14, 07:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
That is kinda what I thought. The strip is from my grandfathers workbench that is probably 50 years old. My thought was to completely rewire it and bring it up to code. I don't think my father wants to due to sentimental reasons. the thing is really neat and worked before as a testing station on a work bench. I appreciate you guys confirming my suspissions. I will rebuild it properly in the morning.
 
  #8  
Old 12-19-14, 08:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
I thought I had filled out where I was. Sorry, guess I didn't save it.
The "strip is pretty cool. It was originally ran off a 220 breaker. It goes out of breaker box and into a 220 plug. Then one Hot lead goes to a 2 gang set of 110 plugs where 1 out of the 4 outlets is hooked to a light socket. you put a bulb in the socket and that single plug works as a test light. My grandfather owned an electrical company and I think this was built when my father was a child. He is now 66. I am sure when it was built it was all up to code. Now days though, I look at it and cant figure out how it ever worked. it is amazing the differences in the way things were done back then and now. I wired my entire house and had zero problems. Probably went overkill with 10 ga wiring but I would rather not risk it.
 
  #9  
Old 12-20-14, 05:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 377
You wired your entire house with AWG #10 wire? Why? What ratings are the breakers? How did you connect #10 to receptacles? Receptacles are rated 15 an 20amp. ????
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes