Need to Build Frequency Emitter for Blind Dog

Old 12-31-14, 09:06 AM
Need to Build Frequency Emitter for Blind Dog

Hi there everyone! This is my first post, thanks for being such an awesome community to join!

I have a dog who went blind a few years ago and, as she ages, is getting noticeably more uncomfortable walking around the house. She finds herself lost even though she's well aware of the layout, and I think I have a solution.

My idea is to create a "north star" for her. I want a noise to be emitted right near her crate and food/water. So I went online and found this DIY:

How to make a Frequency Generator:

Which is pretty fantastic. It's nearly exactly what I need to do sans speaker system. The problem is that I've never worked with circuitry or any sort of engineering like this. I'm an amateur motorcycle mechanic and amateur programmer though, so I'm confident that I can follow instructions

But I need 2 additions to it (that are interconnected). Perhaps my first prototype doesn't need this, but the final version absolutely needs a "food" setting. I need to be able to press a button, and have the emitter change frequencies to indicate that food is in her dish. I need that frequency to then revert back to the "north star" level after a constant period of time (15 min, whatever).

What exactly would I need to do in order to repurpose that DIY emitter into what I'm looking for?

Any advice would be hugely appreciated by both me and blind little Belle!

Thanks,
David

Sponsored Links
Old 12-31-14, 09:42 AM
Group Moderator
Would you be open to a plan B? You wrote:
and amateur programmer though
It seems a computer could do the same thing with the right program. The computer could be old and obsolete and still do this. Not a programer so maybe I'm wrong.

Old 12-31-14, 10:02 AM