Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Help! Need to wire new ceiling light to electrical box having many wires!

Help! Need to wire new ceiling light to electrical box having many wires!

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-15, 03:34 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help! Need to wire new ceiling light to electrical box having many wires!

I have tried and tried, but can't figure out how to connect a new ceiling light to the ceiling electrical box. My ceiling electrical box has eight (8) wires (not counting ground wires) coming out of it. From what I can tell, they appear to be as follows:

a. 1 black (hot) power source
b. 2 black that connect to 2 separate wall outlets
c. 1 black that connects to the light switch (which is a dimmer light switch)
d. 1 white that corresponds to the black power source
e. 2 white that correspond to the 2 black that connect to 2 separate wall outlets
f. 1 white that corresponds to the black that connects to the light switch

In addition, there is 1 white wire and 1 black wire coming out of the ceiling light that I am trying to install.

When I connect a to b, and d to e, the wall outlets work fine. However, I can't figure out the combination of connections to also power the new ceiling light.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 01-01-15, 03:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,323 Votes on 1,223 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You have a 4" round ceiling box with 4) two wire cables coming in and you are adding another one for five cables ? Isn't the box a little over filled ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-15, 03:58 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,740
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Switch

I think you have a switch loop. Tell us what wires are in the switch box and how they are connected.
 
  #4  
Old 01-01-15, 03:59 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is quite full. But this is how the previous owner (or whoever before him) originally installed everything. I am just trying to replace the ceiling light.
 
  #5  
Old 01-01-15, 04:08 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switch box has one black, one white. White on top right, black on bottom right. Nothing attached to green ground.
 
  #6  
Old 01-01-15, 04:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,323 Votes on 1,223 Posts
a. 1 black (hot) power source
b. 2 black that connect to 2 separate wall outlets
c. 1 black that connects to the light switch (which is a dimmer light switch)
d. 1 white that corresponds to the black power source
e. 2 white that correspond to the 2 black that connect to 2 separate wall outlets
f. 1 white that corresponds to the black that connects to the light switch

Connect A + B + F (The white "F" wire should be recolored to black, white or red)
Connect D + E + white of the fixture.
Connect C to the black wire of the fixture.
 
  #7  
Old 01-01-15, 04:30 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax, thanks for the suggestion.

I tried it, but unfortunately it did not work. In addition, the wall outlets no longer had power.

Just to be sure, I also tried the following alternate configuration:

Connect A + B + C
Connect D + E + white of the fixture.
Connect F to the black wire of the fixture.

Unfortunately the same outcome as with your suggestion.

Any other tips or suggestions?

Thanks.
 
  #8  
Old 01-01-15, 04:44 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax, actually, the wall outlets do work for your configuration. So it's just the light fixture still not working. I am wondering whether it could be the light switch itself that is broken.
 
  #9  
Old 01-01-15, 05:20 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
FINAL UPDATE: it turns out that the switch was broken. Don't know what the issue was, but when I disconnected it and installed a new switch, everything worked.

Thanks again, PJmax, for providing me with the configuration.
 
  #10  
Old 01-01-15, 06:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,323 Votes on 1,223 Posts
You're welcome. Glad you got the problem resolved.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: