Dead Outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-04-15, 04:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Dead Outlet

Here's my issue. Dead outlet in living room. Was steam cleaning a rug when power went off. Checked circuit breakers but none were tripped. Reset anyway. Checked and reset every GFCI outlet in the house, but that didn't fix problem. Purchased new receptacle and replaced using exact same wire configuration, but that didn't solve it either. Based on my tester, there is power going to outlet. None of other appliances on circuit are affected. They are all working. What am I missing? What else could be the problem? Appreciate any suggestions.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-04-15, 04:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,483
Welcome to the forums.

1) How many wires (not cables) were connected to the receptacle ?
2) Did you use a non contact tester for voltage testing ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-15, 05:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Three wires connected. One black, one white, and the ground. Yes, it was a non contact tester I used. Thanks,
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-15, 05:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,483
Ok....good. Since your non contact tester shows hot..... you have lost the neutral/white wire.

You will need to go back to the device right before that one. It could be a receptacle or a switch location.
 
  #5  
Old 01-05-15, 03:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Dead Outlet (con't)

Tried every single outlet and switch in the entire house and they are all working. So doesn't appear to be an outlet/receptacle before the dead one. Any other thoughts?
 
  #6  
Old 01-05-15, 04:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,483
The devices are daisy chained together. It can go into one side of the device and out the other side. You may have lost the connection on the out (load) side of the receptacle. That receptacle will show as working but the next one won't be.

You would need to turn the circuit off that controls that receptacle. Then check the wiring at the nearest device.
 
  #7  
Old 01-05-15, 04:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
  #8  
Old 01-05-15, 06:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thanks PJ and Ray for the responses.

Ray- I did review the troubleshooting link and that was my original checklist of things to look at.

PJ- unfortunately, not having a background in electricity, I don't really understand your suggestion. Getting to the point of being "above my pay grade".

Time to call in an electrician. My main goal in all this was to avoid doing so and he finds it's something very simple (like a tripped GFCI) and I am pretty sure it isn't.

Thanks again,

Fred (formerly from NJ!)
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'