Clothes dryer is wired with 12/3 with ground

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-09-15, 10:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Clothes dryer is wired with 12/3 with ground

I am renovating my basement and one of the first steps I need to move my washer and dryer.

Was looking things over to figure out the fittings, boxes, lengths of wire, etc. I need and noticed that the dryer is wired with 12/3 with a ground.

It is on a 30 amp breaker. It looks like a two pole (not sure if they all are).

Is there any valid reason this would be done like this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-15, 01:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
If it's an electric dryer it needs [email protected]
It should be wired with 10/3 w/gr on a 2P30Amp breaker.

#12 wire is only rated for 20Amps max.
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-15, 05:11 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Is there any valid reason this would be done like this?
The unknowing, leading the unskilled, to do a simple task, with unwanted results. Do as Pete suggests and rewire it with the proper cable/wire.
 
  #4  
Old 01-10-15, 05:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, its an electric dryer. Sorry forgot to mention that.

It funny because every time I looked at the wire (Romex) I assumed it was 10 wire. Because the casing is thick. Much thicker than any 12/3 I have used. So I never thought twice.

It was only when I looked closely did I see the casing says 12/3.
 
  #5  
Old 01-10-15, 06:29 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Using more modern cabling, 10 will be orange in color, whereas 12 will be yellow and 14 white.
 
  #6  
Old 01-10-15, 08:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a bunch of stranded wire that is 8 awg. I will run this in conduit. I can use stranded for this, right?

Its actually installed on two single pole 30 amp breakers. Is that ok?

And looking in the box it seems it is so thick because the paper insulation (the braided stuff inside) is so much thicker than the other 12/3. they are both original wiring, about 60 years old, but I guess some manufacturers just made them slightly differently.
 
  #7  
Old 01-10-15, 08:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Its actually installed on two single pole 30 amp breakers. Is that ok?
No, not even if handle tied. It must be on a two pole breaker so there is a common trip.
 
  #8  
Old 01-10-15, 03:26 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Stranded is fine. #8 will be a PITA to bend and cap in the little peckerhead box on the water heater, but not against code at all. What Ray said on the breaker.
 
  #9  
Old 01-10-15, 05:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok I sprung for the $75 for 50 feet of 10/3 with ground. It will be so much faster and easier than running the conduit.
 
  #10  
Old 01-10-15, 06:17 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
  #11  
Old 01-11-15, 06:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmmm. $23 off when buying online and free shipping. But Id have to wait a week and need to move this dryer because it is in my way for other tasks that are building up.

I may choose to wait the week an just slide it over. It'll be a little in the way, but maybe worth it.

Thanks for the info.
 
  #12  
Old 01-11-15, 06:16 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,977
Received 16 Votes on 16 Posts
If you bought it at a E supply house you may not be able to return.
Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: