Powering my doorbell + 3 LED house numbers

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-15, 08:01 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Powering my doorbell + 3 LED house numbers

Can I use the same wire to power my doorbell + 3 of these LED house number (Luxello Modern Brass LED House Numbers 5 : surrounding.com)

Or extend with this wire from my doorbell wire (Robot Check MJ)?

Here's more info about the LED house number.

Electrical requirement:
The numbers require a minimum of 10 - 12 Volt AC or DC for optimum voltage. These are low voltage so you will require a transformer like a doorbell transformer or a 5 Watt LED Driver. A single power supply is enough to illuminated up to 6 numbers. The wires from each number all get connected to the same power supply they do not have any polarity. If you have a battery power pack that can output the required voltage requirements then you can use that as well.


Thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 01-11-15, 08:39 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,275
Received 108 Votes on 100 Posts
What is the maximum voltage the LED house numbers can take?

Doorbell transformers can have inaccurate voltage. Too high a voltage and the LEDs will burn out.

Also the distance from the transformer to the lights together with the thickness of the wires will make a difference. I do not have the numbers (for wire resistance) handy but if the distance is too great then the lights might not work or might flicker.

Also, the lights will probably flicker when the doorbell button is pushed, if you use the same wires. They might also flicker if you use the same transformer but this cannot be predicted.
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-15, 09:10 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It doesn't say what's the max voltage can handle.

Then can I use this for the 3 numbers (LED driver)?

I was hoping there's an easy way to wire them right next to my doorbell and without another box/transformer showing.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-15, 09:21 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
The illuminated numbers are outside. Any power supply to run them is installed inside.

You can't tie them into your doorbell button so installing the numbers next to your button is of no great benefit unless that wire is visible from inside of the house(basement/attic) and is easy to follow.

That supply will power them.
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-15, 09:40 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. What is the best way to do this for a not very skilled person?
 
  #6  
Old 01-11-15, 11:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
At the very least we would need a picture of where you are mounting the numbers.
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...rt-images.html
 
  #7  
Old 01-12-15, 08:08 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Numbers above the mailbox.

Name:  soda.jpg
Views: 2557
Size:  33.5 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 01-12-15 at 11:20 AM. Reason: reoriented picture
  #8  
Old 01-12-15, 12:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
That's a regular siding product like clapboards.... it's not vinyl/metal siding... correct ?

It looks like there would probably be a basement below that area and from there you should be able to see the wiring that goes to the doorbell button.

You could change the cover on your weatherproof receptacle to an "in use" cover and keep a small transformer plugged in out of the weather.
Transformer from amazon

Name:  adapter.jpg
Views: 4159
Size:  23.0 KB



Run a small gauge two conductor cable down from the numbers to the transformer.

Name:  soda.jpg
Views: 2771
Size:  45.3 KB
 
  #9  
Old 01-12-15, 10:42 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJMAX! You made it easy to understand and follow.

What kind of a small transformer?

I only found this that able to fit both end (Nubeeģ 30 Watt Waterproof LED Power Supply Driver Transformer 120 to 12 Volt Dc Output:Amazon:Home Improvement).
 
  #10  
Old 01-12-15, 11:09 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Why not a wall wart like PJ posted? You ought to already have one in your junk drawer from something you threw out long ago.
 
  #11  
Old 01-13-15, 06:45 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,275
Received 108 Votes on 100 Posts
It is okay to run a pair of wires from the lighted numbers into the wall or rim joist and to a transformer or power supply installed indoors.

The typical doorbell circuit has a single wire from the transformer to the button, a single wire from the button to the chime unit, and a single wire from the chime unit to the transformer.

Although running together is not required for low voltage circuits, the two wires for the lighted numbers should run together to the power supply so the existing button wiring is not amenable to be shared.
 
  #12  
Old 01-13-15, 07:26 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@AllanJ that makes sense, I should go with power supply then.

@ray2047 o for the wall wart, do I need to cut out the plug and use the 2 wires?

Or do I need one of these?

1Pcs New DC Power Plug Male Connector 5.5 X 2.1mm With Cord Cable 30cm For LED Strip:Amazon:Home & Kitchen

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00ECV...110_SY165_QL70


Sorry for being stupid, I'm not too good at this.
 
  #13  
Old 01-13-15, 08:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
Yes, of course, it's preferred to run the wires in the wall but you'll need two people and a snake to fish thru an insulated wall. You can follow the path of the doorbell button wiring but the wiring itself will be of no help as you can't connect to it and it's most likely fastened.

amazon - adapter

I picked a transformer that would plug in and fit in an "in use" cover. You would just cut the plug off the adapter and use the two wires.
 
  #14  
Old 01-13-15, 08:46 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Comment/opinion: On the driver you posted where would you put it, how would you hide it, protect it. What would you do with the exposed 120 volt cord on it. All of these are reasons why PJ's suggestion of a wall wart is better.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: