Voltage Drop In Mobile Home

Old 01-13-15, 02:10 PM
Voltage Drop In Mobile Home

Hi guys, I just bought a '95 mobile home which I am working on fixing up.
I have some electrical experience mostly installing new wiring and fixtures.
There is an issue with the electrics in this mobile home, if I turn a light on and then turn a second light on the first light goes dim, this happens to lights all over the mobile home, both the main lights and lamps plugged into the receptacles. I need to fix this can anyone tell me what I need to look for ?

Last edited by ray2047; 02-13-15 at 01:43 AM. Reason: Change Title At Request Of O/P.
Sponsored Links
Old 01-13-15, 02:49 PM
Group Moderator
How does power come to the mobile home? Do you have a breaker box on a pole that feeds a a breaker box in the MH? If so what is the breaker size at the pole that feeds the MH. What size and type of cable is used. Do any of the connections look corroded? Do you have a multimeter preferably analog? Do you have a clamp on amp meter?

Old 01-13-15, 02:55 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
The dimming happens with just a couple light bulbs turned on? No other major electric?

Old 01-13-15, 06:37 PM
Yes, the place is empty so no other electric being used, I had the power turned on and went by yesterday evening to check it and found the problem with the lights so I turned the power back off at the 200 amp main breaker. I plan to go back there at the weekend and try to find the cause of this electrical fault.

Last edited by ScareCrow2000; 01-13-15 at 06:59 PM.
Old 01-13-15, 06:56 PM
The power comes in at a pole outside there is a box on the pole with a 200 amp breaker and two 20 amp breakers. I think the two 20 amp breakers are for outside power receptacles, there is one on the pole below the box.