Doorbell question

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-15, 04:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 16
Doorbell question

I have an older transformer driven chime system. The old transformer is a Rittenhouse model 180 115 vac input and 5va output.I believe it has a 10vac rating.I was at home depot looking for a replacement and several were available, but nothing at this size. They had one which is an exact replacement Zenith model 107-A but at HD its discontinued.

Any idea what I can replace this with if I can't find an exact match?

Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-15, 04:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
If you have one chime and it is electromechanical any chime transformer should work.
I believe it has a 10vac rating.
10v would be for a doorbell not a chime. Chimes are usually 16-18v. Perhaps there was originally a doorbell and someone switched to a chime without upgrading the transformer.
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-15, 04:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
The Heath DW-122 would be an ok replacement for your application. Just slightly larger. 10-16v at 10va.
Heath Zenith Wired Door Chime Transformer-DW-122 - The Home Depot
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-15, 08:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 16
Well you guys got me......I thought they were both the same, I'm sorry but its a ding dong type with the two tubes about 30 inches and a coil with a two way plunger.

Now is that a door bell or a chime?

The original transformer was 5va and 10vac.....

[ATTACH=CONFIG]44912[/ATTACH]

10-16v at 10va from HD work without frying it?
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 01-13-15, 08:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
That's a chime. This is a doorbell.

Name:  doorbell-ch.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  4.7 KB
 
  #6  
Old 01-13-15, 08:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
It may be slightly louder when it strikes but it will not burn up using that transformer.
It's only activated for a few seconds at a time.
 
  #7  
Old 01-13-15, 09:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 16
Thanks a lot fellows.....

All I can say is DUH.....
 
  #8  
Old 01-13-15, 09:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
Fun fact: Now days those two tubes you see are usually fake. The chime is usually just a bar in the case. In fact it is the same as a chime without the tubes. If you have an old one the tubes will actually make the sound.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'