Electrical work recommendation for a wall oven

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-15, 08:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: canada
Posts: 5
Electrical work recommendation for a wall oven

Hi everyone, new to the forum and been reading up various threads.

Now looking for some recommendation on a new appliance in the kitchen.
We decided to use the microwave cutout for a steam oven instead.

Now here is the setup at the cabinet cutout.
-110v recep occupying single pole 15 amp breaker on a 14/2 nmd90 wire.
- Below the mircowave i have a 240v junction box with 8/3 nmd90 wire on 2pole 40amp, planned for another single wall oven using 30amp.
The steam oven reqs 240v 15amp, the single wall oven uses 30amp.

As i lookup
- a 14/2 wire can support a 240v 15 amp 2-pole break - so it should work by replacing the breaker?
- a 8/3 can support 240v 45 amp 2-pole break - since both of my appliances use 45 amp total it should work by replacing this breaker too?

Obviously i don't have the technicality to DIY and I will be hiring a electrician to do the work but would like some reference points prior to getting it done - esp given the situation i don't know which route is "better" if it works at all.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-14-15, 09:04 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
You do not want to combine the appliances into one circuit. Keep them separate as designed.

AFAIK, #14 is good for 15 amps, the same as under the NEC.
 
  #3  
Old 01-14-15, 09:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: canada
Posts: 5
Thanks for the quick response.

Just for learning... do wonder what would be the possible issue with combining 2 appliances into one circuit if there is sufficient wire/break?

Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-15, 09:21 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
Most appliances call for dedicated circuits.
 
  #5  
Old 01-14-15, 06:45 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
a 14/2 wire can support a 240v 15 amp 2-pole break - so it should work by replacing the breaker?
Assuming you are in Canada (you didn't complete your profile), there may be a problem. I am not a CEC expert, but I do seem to remember from other threads that in Canada a red jacketed NM cable is required for 240 volt circuits. Hopefully someone else will chime in on this.
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-15, 07:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
The steam oven reqs 240v 15amp, the single wall oven uses 30amp.
Are those the amperages of the required circuits or the amperages of the appliances ?

If the steam oven is rated for 15A at 240v then it needs to be on #12 wiring for 20A.
Is the wall oven USES 30A at 240v then it needs its own 45A circuit.

Even if you were able to combine both appliances on the 8/3 circuit you would need a circuit panel in the kitchen. You couldn't put a 15A load on a 45A breaker... there would be no protection.

The OP is in Canada.
 
  #7  
Old 01-15-15, 08:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: canada
Posts: 5
thanks for the additional info.

yes this is for canada & the steam 15a/240v and wall oven 30a/240v are per appliance usages.
what the builder roughed in is 14/2 on 120v/15amp and 8/3 on 240v/40amp.

looks like this is turnning into a bigger task requiring new wiring after all.
 
  #8  
Old 01-15-15, 08:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: canada
Posts: 5
actually re-reading the steam's manual, actually it says "circuit breaker = 15amp". electrical rating 1.9 kw @ 240v - so that's approx 8amp usage?
 
  #9  
Old 01-15-15, 09:33 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
Your math is correct.

Why do you think new wiring is needed? The #14 should be good for 15 amps.
 
  #10  
Old 01-15-15, 11:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: canada
Posts: 5
actually that thought was in between reading the percentage load requirement and having the steam's requiring 15amp so lead to thinking i need a 20amp new circuit....which then need at least a 12awg wire..

but after revisiting the manual looks like the 15amp is good so i can drop that thoguht


p.s. sry about the double posting
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'