Direct burial high voltage cable

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-15-15, 07:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Usa
Posts: 29
Direct burial high voltage cable

I'm working with NYSEG power in New York State and need to run 1,500 feet of underground wire. I'm supplying 200 amp service. They want to shoot high voltage down the 1,500 foot run and place a transformer at the building site. They have given me a set of wire specs but the wire distributors I'm calling can't seem to quote me a suitable wire. My question is... does anyone have any recommendations on a good direct burial wire to use. NYSEG is particular on manufacturers. Approved manufactures are Okanite, Prysmian, Kerite, Essex, Gaon, Daewon! olex, BICC, Nexans, and Coreal. I think I've found one that will work but would like to have other options to quote since it will be quite an investment. That cable is Okanite part number 161-23-2060. This has been an extremely frustrating process so any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh and by the way, the type of service (Delta Service) supplied to my area requires that I have to run TWO wires - arg....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-16-15, 05:46 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
I would think the utility would already have the cable and the transformer in their yard. Are you buying the materials and they only install? Have you considered overhead until you get closer?
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-15, 06:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Usa
Posts: 29
Thanks for the reply. I'm running up an easement and have to go underground and underground is customer installed. That said, utility company involvement is only the hook up. I'm hoping to get some wire recommendations that I can send to the utility company and get their approval.
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-15, 07:20 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,502
You didn't tell us what voltage you're using.
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-15, 07:52 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Sounds like you might be looking for something like URD cable. Can you get more info from the power company designers? They deal with this everyday.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-15, 08:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Usa
Posts: 29
Sorry here is more....

The voltage rating of the cable shall be as required by the system with the minimum
acceptable voltage class being 15kV. The minimum required conductor size is, #2
AWG concentric or compressed stranded copper or aluminum for 15kV, and 1/0 AWG
concentric or compressed stranded copper or aluminum for 3SkV. All conductors shall
be stranded, annealed copper or "EC" grade aluminum as per current ICEA and
National Electric Manufacturers Association (NEMA) standards. Must be URD. I'm new at this so please let me know if you need more.
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-15, 09:18 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,502
The Okanite part number 161-23-2060 cable seems to fit the bill.
 
  #8  
Old 01-16-15, 12:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,084
Welcome to the forums.

Oh and by the way, the type of service (Delta Service) supplied to my area requires that I have to run TWO wires
Are requesting three phase or single phase service ?

I was looking around last night at 15Kv distribution cable and I found very few providers online. I did come across the following link which pertains to you and you may have already seen it.

NYSEG MediaLibrary Content Management - Your Business PDF
 
  #9  
Old 01-18-15, 06:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Usa
Posts: 29
Thanks for replying. Requesting single phase service. Yes, I do have the attached document, but thanks for sharing.

I have another question. NYSEG is suggesting that I run high voltage the entire 1,500 and set transformer at building location. What if I place transformer somewhere in the middle to avoid running the two main service wires? What distance could I run 200 amp service without compromising service? Just a thought....
 
  #10  
Old 01-18-15, 06:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
This almost sounds like an engineer should get involved,you want to get this right the first time.
Is the POCO going to allow primary metering?
JMO
Geo
 
  #11  
Old 01-18-15, 07:07 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,275
NYSEG is suggesting that I run high voltage the entire 1,500 and set transformer at building location.
Is this a commercial installation? Around here the power company would never require a homeowner to install high voltage cable and install the transformer to serve a residence.
 
  #12  
Old 01-18-15, 11:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Certainly agree with that,that's why I thought an engineer might be a good idea,sounds like a lot of loose ends.
Geo
 
  #13  
Old 01-18-15, 07:44 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Considering your username is "deercamp" I'm assuming this is a deer camp? If so, what do you need a 200A service for? Are you going to be there for an extended period of time? The reason I am asking this is most people I know only have a few lights and a fridge or two as well as the furnace. The reason I'm saying is that you probably do not need 200A and you can cut your wire size down.

If I was you I would have them run aboveground as long as they can, use a pole mounted transformer about 100' from the building, then 120/240 to the building.
 
  #14  
Old 01-18-15, 08:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
Or a propane generator and large propane tank. Probably cheaper and easier. Schedule regular propane deliveries and your good to go.
 
  #15  
Old 01-18-15, 08:48 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
I have another question. NYSEG is suggesting that I run high voltage the entire 1,500 and set transformer at building location. What if I place transformer somewhere in the middle to avoid running the two main service wires?
Are you sure? I have also never heard of the customer installing the high voltage cable nor have I ever heard of the customer setting the transformer. Usually the customer is not required to do more than install the specified conduit and pull boxes and set the transfomer pad and the utility pulls their high voltage cable and sets their transformer and makes the final connections.
 
  #16  
Old 01-18-15, 09:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Considering your username is "deercamp" I'm assuming this is a deer camp? If so, what do you need a 200A service for?
How do you know that he/she isn't building a large hunting lodge with swimming pool, restaurant and rooms for 100 occupants?

I agree with the others, this is unheard of in my area. I can't imagine the utility asking the owner to supply the high voltage cable. I can understand that under some circumstances that the utility might allow for an owner-supplied transformer with primary metering but that would normally be a service much, much larger than 200 amperes at 240 volts.
 
  #17  
Old 01-19-15, 06:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Usa
Posts: 29
Thanks for all the input. Yes it is a deer camp, however, I'm planning to build a 40x60 pole barn with garage, shop and living space. Shop will have walk in cooler requiring some type of cooling system as well as compressors and other equipment. Planning on frig and freezer too. If I'm putting the effort/money into this, I don't want to regret any short cuts.

Yes, I am positive that underground burial is the customers responsibility. That said, it has to be inspected by an electrician, but power company is not involved. Maybe I'm using the term customer too freely. I will be doing the bulk of the work an electrician will inspect and hook up to building. Power company will hook up at pole.
 
  #18  
Old 01-19-15, 08:52 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
Going back to your original post and question, this is not a DIY friendly project. My recommendation is that you hire a commercial contractor who has the knowledge, equipment and skilled labor force of high voltage qualified electricians to do high voltage work including setting and terminating high voltage transformers. This contractor will also have a contact at the power company to have materials approved, if that is really necessary. This contractor will also have a supply house available to him that regularly supplies high voltage cables, transformers and supplies to utilities and line building contractors that most distributors won't even stock or have no resources to even order. The equipment needed to install a 1500 foot 15 KV line is extensive, but the contractor will have it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes