Generator Transfer switch mounting issue


  #1  
Old 01-17-15, 10:12 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Generator Transfer switch mounting issue

Greetings all,

I have ran into an unexpected problem installing a Generac transfer switch. I have planned to flush mount switch beside main panel. I have cut out opening in sheetrock and there is not enough space between studs to mount switch. I am about 3/8 if an inch shy of it fitting in wall. Any suggestions?
Thank you in advance for any help.
 
  #2  
Old 01-17-15, 10:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,061
Received 3,973 Upvotes on 3,566 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You're trying to flush mount the transfer switch next to the panel.

Most transfer switches I've worked with were not designed to be flush mounted and had too much wiring to even consider the possibility.

The only suggestion I can think of is to move the stud.
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-15, 04:36 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 765
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Which transfer switch do you have?
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-15, 05:57 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,081
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Don't see a flush mount switch in their catalogue,maybe I missed something.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-15, 06:27 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 765
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
They don't have one except the Gen Ready load center.

Kinda why I was asking cause if it's a 100/200 amp SE or non SE switch, it would need togo outside.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: