New receptacle with loop

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-17-15, 10:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
New receptacle with loop

I'm installing a new wall mounted TV and would like to add a new outlet to power it. The closest supply is an end run outlet with a loop on it as well, I can access the loop connections from the j-box. Can I simply tap the feed line to the existing outlet to run a new outlet from? So pigtail the feed hot and then pigtail the feed neutral which is connected to the switched line of the loop?

Or is this incorrect and I should find another supply source? My searches weren't yielding any answers but I was probably not searching for the right thing.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-17-15, 10:54 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
So pigtail the feed hot and then pigtail the feed neutral
Yes, if I understand you correctly but only the neutrals would be pigtailed to the receptacle if both sides of the receptacle are switched.
 
  #3  
Old 01-17-15, 10:55 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,483
end run outlet with a loop on it as well
What does that mean ? Is this receptacle, not outlet, switched from somewhere ?

(The switch loop, although it uses a white wire, isn't neutral)
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-15, 11:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Here's a picture of it.

Name:  recp.jpg
Views: 163
Size:  44.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 01-17-15 at 11:15 AM. Reason: inserted pic
  #5  
Old 01-17-15, 11:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
The loop is going to a ceiling fan
 
  #6  
Old 01-17-15, 11:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,483
The loop goes to a switch.... not the ceiling fan. That wiring specifically shows a switch inline.

It shows power coming in the top and switch loop out the bottom. The power MAY come from the ceiling fan.

Open the wire nut connection. You should measure power from that black wire to the white wire on the receptacle.
 
  #7  
Old 01-17-15, 12:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Thanks for clarifying. I get 120v across those two.
 
  #8  
Old 01-17-15, 12:25 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Name:  recp.jpg
Views: 156
Size:  31.0 KB

.
 
  #9  
Old 01-17-15, 12:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Awesome, thank you both PJmax and ray2047!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'