Extra red wire from receptacle replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-17-15, 12:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Extra red wire from receptacle replacement

Hi
While changing my wall outlet i noticed i had a black, red, white and ground.
My new outlet only had screws for ground, black and white.
Is it okay to simply cap the red wire and use and continue as if it was not there?
This is a standard15 amp ac wall outlet with usb connectors and regular appliance connectors

Thx
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-17-15, 01:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Was the tab on the brass side removed?

Name:  receptacle_tab.jpg
Views: 613
Size:  21.0 KB
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-15, 09:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes it was. What does that mean?THX
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-15, 10:16 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
It means half of your receptacle was controlled via a wall switch. I would do as Ray indicated, break the tab between the two screws, connect the red wire to one and the black wire to the other, still allowing you to have the convenience (and code worthiness if no ceiling light) of the switch.
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-15, 10:22 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
It may also mean that this was a split wired kitchen receptacle on a MWBC. The OP is in Canada.
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-15, 10:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
To add to Larry's post:
This is a standard15 amp ac wall outlet with usb connectors and regular appliance connectors
Not really standard. it may not have the option of splitting the receptacles. If not you may have some extra work to maintain code compliance.
 
  #7  
Old 01-18-15, 10:40 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Ah, yes, missed the USB thingy. You only have one receptacle so to speak since the other half is consumed with USB ports. Being in Canada you have special wiring we are not privy to here in the States. Our kitchen small appliance circuits must be 20 amp and GFCI protected, and there must be two of them. Does a switch control one half of the old receptacle, or is it part of a MWBC as Jim suggested? Is it at the end of the run or are there more wires taking off from it?
 
  #8  
Old 01-18-15, 10:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
15 amp ac wall outlet
Is this a kitchen receptacle? Is the breaker 15 amps? CEC does not allow 15 amp receptacles on 20 amp circuits.
 
  #9  
Old 01-18-15, 11:13 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
AFAIK the 15 amp MWBC was allowed for kitchen countertops where each half of the duplex was on a different circuit. This was an alternate instead of installing 20 amp circuits under the CEC.
 
  #10  
Old 01-18-15, 12:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
But the O/P hasn't said if it is in the kitchen or did I miss that.
 
  #11  
Old 01-18-15, 01:16 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
Still no location in the house provided. Hopefully this can be clarified.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: