Waterproof knock out tie down for meter main


  #1  
Old 01-18-15, 07:22 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Waterproof knock out tie down for meter main

I'm putting in a new outdoor meter main and I'm going to run #6 bare copper to the grounding system. What is the best way to come out of the steel panel? Do they make waterproof 1/2 knock out clamps or should I just use a regular one? Also looked like the panel has 1/4" knock out holes? What do people do on their meter main to get the ground wire out of the box?
 
  #2  
Old 01-18-15, 07:25 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,407
Received 896 Upvotes on 757 Posts
Go out the bottom. Drill a hole if needed to fit the wire through.
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-15, 08:01 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
No need for a clamp for the grounding electrode. Use one of the knockout holes in the bottom (1/4") or drill one as Tolyn indicates. From the meter base to the panel, if you are back to back, and using a 2" nipple, just run it through with the other conductors.
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-15, 08:10 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,989
Received 202 Upvotes on 176 Posts
Check with your inspector. Some areas require a clamp like the Kenny clamp.
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-15, 08:13 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Link: Kenny Clamp 2011 NEC compliant
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-15, 08:38 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Yeah, since your profile is incomplete and we don't know where you are located, a clamp may be required. Fill us in on your location.
 
  #7  
Old 01-18-15, 09:22 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How is that? I'm in Portland Or in unincorporated Washington County..
 
  #8  
Old 01-19-15, 03:42 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,989
Received 202 Upvotes on 176 Posts
Some areas may have local rules that change the NEC. Location matters. For example, areas around Chicago require conduit and NM cable is not allowed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: