Where should I put the light switches??


  #1  
Old 01-18-15, 04:52 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 591
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Where should I put the light switches??

I only have enough room to put a single gang in the place that I would like to place 2 switches. Can you put 2 switches in a single gang box? If not, what do people do in this situation? I do have room around the corner for a switch ( as you can see in the picture) but it isn't ideal.

Name:  20150118_194315.jpg
Views: 213
Size:  30.3 KB
 

Last edited by rufunky; 01-18-15 at 05:37 PM.
  #2  
Old 01-18-15, 05:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,142
Received 1,523 Votes on 1,406 Posts
I only have enough room to put a single gang in the place that I would like to place 2 switches.
Ok.... and that would be where in the picture ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-15, 05:39 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 591
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I uploaded a new picture. Spot 1 is where I would like to put the two switches. Spot 2 is the not so ideal spot. I can not put it on the opposite side of the door because the door will open in the direction.
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-15, 05:46 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,254
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
What if you put it in spot 2 but faced it out into the hall?
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-15, 06:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,142
Received 1,523 Votes on 1,406 Posts
Location 1 is less than ideal as it would be hard to sheetrock, finish the corner and get the plate to fit.
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-15, 06:14 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They make double switches, like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-Dual-S.../dp/B0006B55DA
 
  #7  
Old 01-18-15, 06:28 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 591
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PCboss, the other side wouldn't work for my needs. The switches are to control the lights within the room.

PJmax, I have 7 1/2 inches to work with. The trim for the door is only 2 1/2".

Name:  20150118_211928.jpg
Views: 156
Size:  21.4 KB

Brian Kramer, THAT LOOKS LIKE IT SHOULD WORK!
 
  #8  
Old 01-19-15, 03:22 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 7 Votes on 6 Posts
You'll have an additional 3/4" (really 1/2" considering reveal) to the left taking into consideration the door casing, so that location with an over/under switch would work.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: