Need help replacing thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-19-15, 10:23 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help replacing thermostat

First off, bare with me as i am not that savvy with electrical.

I am trying to replace an old 1970's thermostat for baseboard heaters. It has the turn style knob on it. I went to Lowes and purchased a digital Honeywell thermostat made for baseboard heaters. Here is what i bought Honeywell RLV3100A1017/E Non-Programmable Thermostat for Electric Baseboard Heaters - Nonprogrammable Household Thermostats - Amazon.com

The new thermostat comes with instructions for a 2 wire or 4 wire install, my old thermostat has 6 wires going to it. Hence, why i need help. Here is a very basic layout of my old thermostat and what it looks like from the front.

For reference, the 4 small circles are screws and the lines from the side are the electrical lines going to the screws. The lines on the right are all dark grey and the lines on the left are all white (in reality).

Name:  Untitled.png
Views: 1316
Size:  8.6 KB

The back of the new thermostat has 2 black wires coming out of it. I need to know how to hook the 6 wires up so it will work.

The room i am doing this in has two 5 or 6 ft baseboard heaters in it, if you need to know that.

Any help you could provide would be appreciated!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-19-15, 10:31 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Maybe i should also note that i have a multi-meter and it reads 240 when placed on the top two "line" screws. If i place a probe on one of the line and one of the load screws it reads 94 or somewhere close to that. Not sure if this matters or not.
 
  #3  
Old 01-19-15, 05:57 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,504
Received 63 Votes on 54 Posts
I would pigtail the "Load" wires so you only have one wire per screw and then follow the 4 wire instructions. BTW, you link doesn't work.
 
  #4  
Old 01-19-15, 09:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,448
Received 761 Votes on 715 Posts
Connect the three white wires together.
Connect the two black load wires together to one thermostat wire.
Connect the single line black wire to the other thermostat wire.

Name:  Capture.JPG
Views: 10881
Size:  35.7 KB
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-15, 05:12 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply guys. That's what i thought i should do but i guess i needed the reassurance that it was the right thing to do. Definitely do not want to mess up wiring and heat in the middle of winter

The link works fine for me. Here is another to Honeywell's own website RLV3100A

It's the RLV3100A if you can't get either to work.
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-15, 08:15 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,504
Received 63 Votes on 54 Posts
The link works fine for me.
It works for me today too, but wouldn't work yesterday.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: