Main and range fuse pullouts

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-21-15, 04:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Main and range fuse pullouts

Hello guys. I'm in desperate need of some advice.

I very much need to track down a set of fuse pullouts for the panel I am linking below. If I can't find them I can't get a mortgage on a house I'd really like to buy. If anyone can offer any insight that would be great!

http://imgur.com/a/6TDnu

Thank you so much!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-15, 04:38 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No one here knows where on the planet you are since you did not add your location when you registered so how does anyone suggest a place to buy them?
Any Lowes, HD, Manards, electrical supply has fused disconnects.
Makes me wonder about all the other electrical issues there may be.
A lot more info just may save you a ton of money.
EG: size of panel, ungrounded outlets, knob and tube wiring, GFI's in garage, kitchen, bathrooms?
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-15, 05:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,083
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Joe brings up a valid point.... with a panel of this age.... other electrical issue.

All I can tell you is......
Walker Electrical Co., Inc.
Division of I.T.E. Circuit Breaker Company
Atlanta, Georgia

I would severely doubt you'll find any parts for that panel. That panel looks to have been run hot also. It would probably be best to replace it.

In looking thru your pictures I spotted an interesting piece of BX just sticking thru a hole in the panel. The red wire going to a fuse, the black wire to neutral and the white wire connected to nothing.

Name:  5xyMULq.jpg
Views: 273
Size:  37.9 KB
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-15, 05:46 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,016
Received 17 Votes on 17 Posts
Could that be a 240 volt circuit on plug fuses? I would suggest changing out the panel.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-15, 05:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,083
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
No.... the black wire is connected to a neutral block.

The black wiring I'm pointing to is the bottom one.
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-15, 06:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Some insurers may have issues with fuse panels and choose not to insure you. You may want to consider changing to a breaker panel.
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-15, 06:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Poster is in Mount Laurel,New Jersey.
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-15, 07:57 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Change the panel, you'll never find the pullouts. If the meter socket and service entrance wiring is as old as the panel, as I suspect it is, you'll need a complete new service inside and out, probably 100 amp minimum.
 
  #9  
Old 01-21-15, 08:37 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Since you are buying ask the seller to prove the utilities work or negotiate for a repair or replacement.
 
  #10  
Old 01-21-15, 09:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,083
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
This may be a foreclosure purchase. Basically it's an as-it-is purchase and the buyer is responsible for upgrading to the loaners satisfaction.
 
  #11  
Old 01-22-15, 05:42 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,016
Received 17 Votes on 17 Posts
PJ,good eye, I thought it was on the fuse,guess I need a prescription upgrade.
Geo
 
  #12  
Old 01-23-15, 12:42 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That wiring dates to the early-mid 1950's. You need at the very least a panel change. A partial or full rewire wouldn't hurt, either.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: