Replacing Power cord on Primo water cooler


  #1  
Old 01-23-15, 06:22 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing Power cord on Primo water cooler

The replacement cord (13 amp) has a black wire, a green ground wire and a white wire. The cooler has two blue wires and a brown wire. I connected the green ground wire to the coolers frame and the brown to the black. Do I connect both blue wires to the white wire?
 
  #2  
Old 01-23-15, 07:33 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
How was the old cord connected? Was it a 3-wire cord also? Your colors and number of wires sound wrong. Are you connecting this to the compressor? Is there a capacitor? Can you post a some pictures? http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html
 
  #3  
Old 01-23-15, 08:23 AM
Beachboy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast Kansas
Posts: 756
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
That sounds like an European wiring color scheme. I know Primo water coolers are sold here in the US (just looked at one this week at Sam's Club) but I presume they are built in China. Do you suppose the Chinese manufacturer is using the same wiring color scheme worldwide and just changing the plug to fit the particular market the cooler is destined for? That being said, isn't brown designated as "earth" (ground) on the other side of the pond?
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-15, 08:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,198
Received 1,531 Votes on 1,414 Posts
Across the pond... blue is neutral and brown is hot.
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-15, 08:54 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is the water cooler 120v or 240v? Has this been used by you before and the cord just went bad or new to you from Ebay?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: