Pool pump motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-15, 08:36 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Pool pump motor

Hi All, 2 HP pool pump motor on a Sta Rite Max E Pro had a blown starting capacitor,pump would run for about 5 seconds and trip the breaker,I replaced the capacitor and nothing changed,runs for about 5 seconds and trips the breaker.
Thoughts
Geo
 
  #2  
Old 01-25-15, 08:59 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,003
Received 63 Votes on 52 Posts
Is it getting up to speed before tripping or is it struggling to start? If struggling to start I would check the little contacts that engage/disengage centrifugally when you switch on. Just had to clean the contacts on my table saw motor yesterday. Thought maybe I had a bad capacitor, but after pulling a piece of emery cloth through the contact points, it spins right up.
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-15, 01:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,886
Received 1,342 Votes on 1,240 Posts
I removed your other post in the pool section. We'll concentrate on this one.

I agree.... it does sound like the centrifugal starter switch is not releasing.
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-15, 03:08 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Motor starts for about 5sec then trips on GFCI, JUNK IT RIGHT!
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 01-25-15, 04:38 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,806
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
Trips the breaker or the GFCI? In your previous posts you said breaker.
 
  #6  
Old 01-25-15, 04:44 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
I was given the wrong info,it trips the GFCI, they said it trips in about 5 seconds and I thought that was a bit quick unless there was a direct short.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 01-25-15, 04:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,886
Received 1,342 Votes on 1,240 Posts
Is that a combination GFCI breaker ?

If it were a ground fault issue it would probably trip instantly. I'm still going with an overload from the motor start circuit.
 
  #8  
Old 01-25-15, 05:03 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
It's a GFCI breaker,not sure what a combination GFCI breaker would be.
Geo
 
  #9  
Old 01-25-15, 06:30 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,806
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
I don't know what a combination GFCI is either. AFCI yes, GFCI no.

I thought that was a bit quick unless there was a direct short
GFCI does not trip on a hot to neutral short, only on a ground fault. I would start by swapping out the GFCI. I had a service call about a tripping GFCI on a microwave similar to what you are experiencing and a new GFCI fixed the issue.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 01-26-15 at 05:11 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: