GFCI outlets in unfinished basement

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-29-15, 07:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 203
GFCI outlets in unfinished basement

My research now tells me GFCI is now code in unfinished basements.
I also see many debates concerning having a sump pump on the GFCI, the theory being when needed it could trip with flooding being the consequence

I want to keep at least one outlet non GFCI for the sump pump use.
My idea is to keep the first receptical on a chain of 4 outlets non GFCI via a pigtail splice, the second on the chain will have the GFCI which will be protecting the remaining two downstream. Is this proposal OK?

Thanks for the advice
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-29-15, 08:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
There are no exceptions to the GFCI rule.
 
  #3  
Old 01-30-15, 07:17 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,502
A sump pump that trips a GFCI is faulty and presents an electrocution hazard. Keeping it on the GFCI is the correct course of action. If you want to insure against flooding, add a second pump on a separate circuit or get a "backup" style that runs on 12V batteries or city water pressure.
 
  #4  
Old 01-30-15, 08:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 487
You can also get a GFCI with an audible alarm so that if it does trip, you'll know about it.
 
  #5  
Old 01-30-15, 09:10 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,383
I want to keep at least one outlet non GFCI for the sump pump use.
My idea is to keep the first receptical on a chain of 4 outlets non GFCI via a pigtail splice, the second on the chain will have the GFCI which will be protecting the remaining two downstream. Is this proposal OK?
Is it OK? It really depends on what version of the NEC and amendments your community has adopted. As I recall, 2008 and after requires the GFCI protection for all sump pump receptacles.
 
  #6  
Old 01-30-15, 07:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 203
I understand
As per written code use GFCI period....
However is my wiring proposal "schematic/layout" ok
I would be wiring 4 outlets in a chain the only difference is the the first outlet would be normal and the second would be the GFCI protecting the third and fourth downstream?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes