Installing receptacles- chain vs hub and spoke


  #1  
Old 02-02-15, 01:18 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 188
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installing receptacles- chain vs hub and spoke

any preferences on wiring hub and spoke vs chaining when running outlets?
are both accepted methods by NEC?
depending on the rout sometimes hub and spoke makes more sense to avoid unnecessary wire overlap

thanks for the opinions
 
  #2  
Old 02-02-15, 01:34 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,115
Received 1,262 Upvotes on 1,203 Posts
Chaining makes sense when the walls are open but once they're closed it can be better one way one time and another the next.
 
  #3  
Old 02-02-15, 01:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,898 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Both methods are accepted but a good reason to daisy chain them is you end up with two cables in the box.... in and out. Two cables in a standard box are comfortable to work with. Three cables start pushing the spare room.
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-15, 02:43 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,974
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Both are accepted trade practice and are allowed by code as long as the junction box remain accessible. The daisy chain method is more common.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-15, 04:53 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 188
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks
My application would involve a junction box with 4 wires(1feed and 3 supply)
So I understand the potential issue of clutter. I was thinking of a 4 11/16" box or a standard 4" box with an extender. Are extenders acceptable for use as a splice box?
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-15, 04:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,974
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Extension boxes are fine to added needed box volume. Make sure the conductors extend 3" past the opening.
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-15, 07:41 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
My application would involve a junction box with 4 wires(1feed and 3 supply)
So I understand the potential issue of clutter. I was thinking of a 4 11/16" box or a standard 4" box with an extender.
In that application I'd use a single 2 1/8" deep 1900 box (4" square) with a blank cover. A 2 1/8" deep 4 11/16" square box would also work just fine, no extensions necessary.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: