Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Combo Switch (Fan+Light / 110v) to 2 Gang Timer Switch + (2) 110v

Combo Switch (Fan+Light / 110v) to 2 Gang Timer Switch + (2) 110v


  #1  
Old 02-02-15, 03:07 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Combo Switch (Fan+Light / 110v) to 2 Gang Timer Switch + (2) 110v

I need help with a bathroom project in my old home.

I currently have this setup I found on the forums here

Name:  switchedoutlet.png
Views: 31157
Size:  13.5 KB

I want to go to a 2 gang box (remodeling blue box) with a timer switch (which needs load, line and ground) and a standard 2 110v outlet.

I need help. I don't have ground so I had to use a pigtail screw to the box. When I hook up the load and line, I can't tell why the switch stays on when I go to turn on the circuit at the breaker box.

I'm thinking I need to tie off the neutral and hot with a wire nut but I'm unsure? It does not make a lot of sense.
 
  #2  
Old 02-02-15, 03:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
So you want to use a 120 volt duplex receptacle and a timer switch. You should have two cables in the box. One is power in and the other is power out to the light. Is that correct? If so:
  • Connect the whites of the two cables to a pigtail.
  • Connect the power in black and timer black to a pigtail.
  • Connect power out black to timer red.
  • Connect the pigtails to the line side of your GFCI receptacle.
  • Connect ground of power in to timer ground if present, power out ground, and two pigtails. Connect one pigtail to the box if metal and the other pigtail to the receptacle.
Above assumes timer black is line and red is load.
 
  #3  
Old 02-02-15, 03:27 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,584
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
What do you plan to control with the timer?
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-15, 03:33 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Thanks for the help.

@Geochurchi - I'm controlling the fan and light, but I wish I could control each separately. From what I understand, the two were connected before the wires come into the metal wall box.

@Ray2047 - Thanks for the detailed response. Just to clarify

Connect the whites of the two cables to a pigtail.

Which whites? I only have one neutral line.

Connect the power in black and timer black to a pigtail.

Is power in line or load?

Connect power out black to timer red.

Connect the pigtails to the line side of your GFCI receptacle.

Connect ground of power in to timer ground if present, power out ground, and two pigtails. Connect one pigtail to the box if metal and the other pigtail to the receptacle.

I'm using a plastic remodeling box and I got the ground pigtail to attach to a green screw. Will that work?
 
  #5  
Old 02-02-15, 03:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Connect the whites of the two cables to a pigtail.
Which whites? I only have one neutral line.
You should have two cables. The whites of both cables are neutral. Power in is your line, the cable that brings power in. Load is the cable to the light/fan. If you use a plastic box then you do not ground it.

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 16897
Size:  23.4 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-02-15 at 08:50 PM.
  #6  
Old 02-02-15, 09:38 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@ray2047, your diagram makes sense except that what makes it hard is that I have only one neutral (white).

The way it currently goes is, I think -

neutral - [single outlet] - black (hot)

load - [switch] - jumper to hot
 
  #7  
Old 02-02-15, 10:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,175
Received 2,978 Votes on 2,686 Posts
IF you only have 1) two wire cable coming into that box. You can't do anything. You can't switch anything outside of that box without running another cable. Right now you have a hot and neutral in that box..... nothing more.
 
  #8  
Old 02-02-15, 10:13 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
You need to run a 3-conductor cable (red, black, white) to the fan light.

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 8676
Size:  24.5 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-02-15 at 10:32 PM.
  #9  
Old 02-03-15, 05:07 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
Plastic boxes do not get grounded. They are non conductive so there is no need.
 
  #10  
Old 02-03-15, 05:26 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,584
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
You want to control a fan light? Is there a fan rated box there now,?reason I ask is if that feed for the receptacle /switch Maybe coming from that ceiling box,in which case you maybe able to convert it to a switchleg,otherwise you are out of luck.
Just a thought!
Geo
 
  #11  
Old 02-03-15, 09:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,175
Received 2,978 Votes on 2,686 Posts
You can certainly convert that two wire cable to a switch loop but then you're using the white wire as a hot wire. You can no longer have a receptacle in that box.
 
  #12  
Old 02-03-15, 09:58 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@pcboss - Yes, I read that but the fan timer says that if the ground is not connected it will not function. It's some safety thing.

@ray2047 - So I have no option other than to run new wire? (Assuming that is the case, let's say I don't mind getting rid of the power outlets, can I at least convert the combo switch into a timer?)
 
  #13  
Old 02-03-15, 10:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,175
Received 2,978 Votes on 2,686 Posts
At the current time.... I don't think we've confirmed that the two wire cable in your wall box comes from the light.

If that two wire cable does go to the ceiling light then you can convert it to timer controlled with no receptacle.
 
  #14  
Old 02-09-15, 05:55 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm honestly not sure how I can test if the two wire is from the light or the fan because they seem to be controlled together despite being actually separate fixtures.

I tried just replacing unit with a timer box and I ended up throwing the circuit breaker. I had to wait for some time and switch it before I could get power back. I ended up just putting the old set up back.
 
  #15  
Old 02-09-15, 06:41 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
The wires may run from the switch to the fan and then to the light.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: