Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

How to fix an "open ground" on a receptacle that seems grounded?

How to fix an "open ground" on a receptacle that seems grounded?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-15, 11:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Question How to fix an "open ground" on a receptacle that seems grounded?

In the master bedroom on one wall there are two receptacle that when tested shows “open ground”, I have replaced the receptacle on both (with new tamperproof receptacles) and while doing that checked to ensure there was a “ground” wire connected from the receptacle to the box (see image below). One thing to note – the room is aluminum wiring (but so are most of the house and no other receptacles have this issue).

Name:  Receptacle_MBRoom_Ground.jpg
Views: 1130
Size:  33.2 KB

At this point I am not sure what could be causing it, any suggestions?
Thanks,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-03-15, 01:20 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Is it Romex or BX between the breaker box & the switch box? Do I see a bare ground wire coming out of the cable? If so, why isn't it connected to the green screw on the switch?
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-15, 01:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,632
You first need to use something more accurate then a plug-in tester. Measure between hot and ground with a multimeter, preferably analog.

I have replaced the receptacle on both (with new tamperproof receptacles)
But were they rated for aluminum wiring?
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-15, 06:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
The bare wire does appear to be connected to the receptacle in the picture. Like Ray said.... you'll need to check from black to the bare ground. There may be a problem at the other end of the cable.
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-15, 07:21 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
the room is aluminum wiring
In the U.S. there is no such thing as a tamper resistant CO/ALR rated receptacle. Are you sure it's aluminum wire? What country are you in? I have not heard of aluminum wiring being used outside the U.S. except maybe for some in Canada. If it is in fact aluminum wiring, you need to pigtail the aluminum to copper wire using an appropriate copper to aluminum connector.
 
  #6  
Old 02-03-15, 09:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Pulpo: it is connected to the green screw (ground)...

ray2047: they are not, I use anti-oxidant paste for that, as with the rest of my house but only these 2 receptacles are causing me issues.

CasualJoe: this is in Canada, for about 5-10 years aluminum was used in construction (sadly). Have you ever used or reviewed AlumiConn Aluminum to Copper Lug as a permanent solution?
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-15, 04:55 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,350
I have only heard good reviews of the King Alumiconn connectors. They have been out several years.
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-15, 05:15 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
CasualJoe: this is in Canada, for about 5-10 years aluminum was used in construction (sadly). Have you ever used or reviewed AlumiConn Aluminum to Copper Lug as a permanent solution?
The AlumiConn is good. Here is some good info for you.

http://www.cpsc.gov//PageFiles/118856/516.pdf

ray2047: they are not, I use anti-oxidant paste for that, as with the rest of my house but only these 2 receptacles are causing me issues.
That's not good enough. Those devices are not rated for aluminum wire no matter how much antioxidant you use. You need to pigtail to copper conductors if you want to use those devices. Here's another FYI for you. No manufacturer makes an CO/ALR rated GFCI receptacle either. A GFCI device also needs to have copper pigtails attached to the aluminum wiring in order to safely terminate the GFCI device.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'