Are there switch plates with "depth" ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-15, 07:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,559
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Are there switch plates with "depth" ?

Do they make switch plates that has some depth to accommodate when the device is too bulky?

I have a metal handy box and I need to put in a ceiling fan/light control and there is not enough depth in the box to fit the wiring and the switch, so it is protruding about 3/8" to 1/2" out of the finished wall. Is there any sort of extra deep switch plate cover that can address this issue?



The metal handy box is attached to an EMT conduit coming from the bottom (home run to panel under the slab), and another EMT conduit out of the top (going up to the ceiling fan). So my other option is to see if I can remove the lock nut to the connector at the top and bottom, and see if I can free the handy box, then cut the opening wider and put in a 2 gang box by connecting the EMT conduit back...I just don't know if that would work...if the EMT conduit is strapped at the top then I don't think I can free the box.

PS. I know I can attach a single gang extension ring to that box then put a cover on. That would end up with a metal box sticking out at least an inch so I am looking for something a bit more elegant.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-03-15, 07:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,540
Received 508 Votes on 478 Posts
No... no deep plates that I'm aware of but you could use a Wiremold box from Legrand.

You could drill out the two switch holes and use long screws to go thru the wiremold box into your existing box. You wouldn't need the back metal part of the box.

Wiremold V5748S Single Gang Box in Ivory.
Name:  Wiremold-V5748S-rw-205591-314153.jpg
Views: 2946
Size:  7.8 KB
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-15, 08:27 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,274
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
I have a metal handy box and I need to put in a ceiling fan/light control and there is not enough depth in the box to fit the wiring and the switch,
That is an extremely poor application for a handy box, but I suppose it is existing and you have to live with it. I would also use a surface mounted Wiremold box over the handy box like PJ has suggested, but you may need a deeper one than he has suggested to accept the control you have chosen.
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-15, 08:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,559
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
hmmm...what if I cut a rectangular hole next to the current handy box, and gang in another handy box using a short short box spacer, I will be able to use one box for the wiring, and the new box for the bulky switch. Will I be able to use a two gang plate? Or I will have to use two single plates spaced apart?
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-15, 08:33 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,274
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
what if I cut a rectangular hole next to the current handy box, and gang in another handy box using a short short box spacer, I will be able to use one box for the wiring, and the new box for the bulky switch. Will I be able to use a two gang plate? Or I will have to use two single plates spaced apart?
That would make the mess a worse mess. A 2-gang plate won't fit nor will two 1-gang plates fit. I'd use a Wiremold box about 2" to 2 1/2" deep that will screw to the existing handy box. They are made as extensions for just this application with a large rectangular opening in the backing plate.
 
  #6  
Old 02-03-15, 10:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,540
Received 508 Votes on 478 Posts
The Wiremold boxes come in several different depths.
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-15, 04:17 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
It may not be to your decor, but I had this happen once where the customer didn't want to tear into the walls to replace the box, which IMO was too small. I went to my shop and using 1/2" oak, routed a nice wall plate, slightly larger than the intended cover plate, so it fit over the entire box and switch. I glued it to the wall and installed the cover plate. It could have been stained or painted to match the walls.
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-15, 08:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,559
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks Chandler PJMax I have a few ideas now.

Plan A - if I can remove the lock nut on the top conduit, I will give it a push and see if it is strapped. If it moves I will remove the bottom EMT connection, and the handy box. I will either widen the wallboard hole and put in a two gang box, or use a handy box with an extension ring.

Plan B - install the original receiver to the fan and go with a remote, making this bulky switch unnecessary.

Plan C - use PJMax suggestion and get a 1/2" surface mount extension.

Plan D - get a new ceiling fan and use pull chains for control, and just wire the fan light to the wall switch.
 
  #9  
Old 02-04-15, 08:29 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
You forgot Option E, bulldoze the house and lose the headaches that just keep coming.
 
  #10  
Old 02-04-15, 08:56 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,166
Received 23 Votes on 23 Posts
Check this link,extension ring at bottom of page should work.
https://www.platt.com/CutSheets/Wire...%20raceway.pdf
Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: