Motion sensor light switch wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-15, 09:59 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 78
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Motion sensor light switch wiring

I'm about to return this thing since i've tried multiple combinations and still can't figure out where the red wire goes anyone have any insight? hot wire capped off currently on pics.

For single pole applications, wire the sensor switch according to wiring diagram #1 using the wire nuts provided.
1. The sensor black wire will connect to the hot wire (black) in the wallbox.
2. The sensor red wire will connect to the wire which goes to the light fixture.
3. The sensor white wire will connect to the neutral wire (white) in the wallbox.
4. The sensor blue wire is not used and should be capped off with a wire nut.
5. The sensor green wire will connect to the ground wire in the wallbox.
6. Install the sensor loosely using the mounting screws provided.
7. Apply power temporarily and verify that the sensor works by pushing the ON/OFF button to verify the lights turn on
and off. If the lights do not work, then turn off the power and swap the connections on the sensor black and red wires
8. Apply power again and verify that the sensor works by pushing the ON/OFF button to verify the lights turn on and off




 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-15, 10:15 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You don't have the switch neutral connected to neutral. The group of white wires is neutral.

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 1909
Size:  35.6 KB
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-15, 12:01 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 78
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hooked the white to the white wires now and the red to the black based on your picture and it still does not work. Is it possible I shorted it out when installing it incorrectly?
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-15, 02:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Does the black wire you connected to the switch when disconnected show ~120 volts when measured to the white of its cable?
 
  #5  
Old 02-07-15, 02:48 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,124
Received 71 Votes on 61 Posts
As jacked as that wiring was you may have fried it. The red is typically the switched output of the motion sensor. What connections do the instructions call for?
 
  #6  
Old 02-07-15, 03:12 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 78
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tested the place I put the red wire based on the pictures with the red end of the multimeter and placed the black end of the multimeter to where the black wire is connected and it shows 120v.
 
  #7  
Old 02-07-15, 03:18 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just curious pcboss why do you think the wiring was jacked? I zoomed in on the pics and it looks like power is coming in from the bottom left of the box. Blacks were pigtailed going to switches that then feed 2 lights. I think Alex removed the splice that was going to the old switch.

Here's how I would connect it:
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 02-07-15, 03:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Can't quiet understand your last post. There should be an in coming cable with a black and white wire that is power in with that cable disconnected it will show ~120 v between the black and white wires. (Color of multimeter probes is irrelevant on AC.)

The black of that cable should be connected to both switches. That is the black that goes to the black of the new timer switch.
 
  #9  
Old 02-07-15, 03:27 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,124
Received 71 Votes on 61 Posts
Connecting the switch neutral to 120 power is not even close to correct.
 
  #10  
Old 02-07-15, 03:53 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Switch is probably fried. Get a new switch. Here is what your wiring should look like. Be sure to verify which cable is power in. If you have more cables then shown, stop. Post back for further instructions.

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 33111
Size:  25.4 KB
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: