Removing electrical switch and drywalling over it.

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-15, 08:35 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Removing electrical switch and drywalling over it.

There is an extra switch on my wall that turns off one of the power outlets. I find it annoying since sometimes I accidentally turn of the power outlet. This extra switch has nothing to do with the ceiling lights for the room. I want to remove this switch so the outlet box will always be on. I am not an electrician and I am hoping someone can review my project for approval before I do it.

My plan is to cut the wires to the switch then connect the black wire to the white wire to complete the circuit. Then place the wires back in the electrical box and cover the electrical switch hole with drywall.

I would greatly appreciate a review of my plan.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-15, 08:44 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
You cannot cover any sort of splice or junction. It has to remain accessible. You can remove the switch, wire nut the connection, and put a blank cover over it, but you cannot cover it.
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-15, 08:55 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 25,843
Received 642 Votes on 594 Posts
You also don't connect black to white.

White to white...black to black.
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-15, 11:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,577
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
Hey X..... if the OP only has two wires in the box then he has a switch loop. There will be only a white and black and they do get connected together.
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-15, 02:22 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
You can place a switch guard over the switch so it cannot be turned off. Live junction boxes cannot be buried under the wall finish.
 
  #6  
Old 02-08-15, 06:40 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If it is a switch loop the cable can be abandoned in place by rewiring at the receptacle. Once the cable is abandoned on both ends the switch box can be removed. Tell us about all the wires at the switch and if the tab on the brass side of the receptacle has been removed.
 
  #7  
Old 02-08-15, 08:05 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,605
Received 204 Votes on 181 Posts
You could also install a blank switch filler:
Toggle to Blank Switch Plate Filler Inserts Leviton 80700 - Kyle Switch Plates
Any home store should have them.
 
  #8  
Old 02-08-15, 11:00 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 25,843
Received 642 Votes on 594 Posts
never thought about that possibility.
 
  #9  
Old 02-08-15, 08:20 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for the excellent advice.

Ray2047, I like the idea of rewiring and abandoning the receptacle. However, that sounds complicated for someone like me that is learning. I will have to rewire the wires from the outlet then directly to some other junction box, right?
 
  #10  
Old 02-08-15, 08:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,577
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
It sounds complicated but it really isn't.

Identify which receptacle is the switched one....top or bottom. Turn the power off to that circuit.

You would need to remove the switched receptacle from the box. Don't disconnect any wires yet. If you look on the side of the receptacle with the small slots and the brass screws you need to find that wire that is connected to the screw for the switched part of the receptacle. It should be a black wire. You WILL be removing that wire from the receptacle.

Now... follow that black wire into the box. You should see the white wire that is its mate in the switch loop cable. That white wire will be connected to a black splice. You WILL be removing that white wire from the splice.

Once you have the wires ID'ed you will be cutting them off at the back of the box.
You will now need to change the receptacle as the jumper will be broken off on the brass screw side.

Name:  bridging clip.jpg
Views: 479
Size:  20.3 KB
 
  #11  
Old 02-09-15, 03:51 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Ray2047, I like the idea of rewiring and abandoning the receptacle.
No, not abandon the receptacle. I wrote
If it is a switch loop the cable can be abandoned in place
I meant the cable to the switch not the receptacle.

If only half the receptacle is switched and you have a switch loop this is what you do but if the whole receptacle is switched or you don't have only two wires in the switch box post back for different instructions.

Name:  Sw_Loopb-1_zps69e9ba8b.jpg
Views: 4322
Size:  30.0 KB
In this example the tab is broken between the brass screws and the receptacle is replaced with a receptacle with an unbroken tab.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: