Removing electrical switch and drywalling over it.

Old 02-07-15, 08:35 PM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Removing electrical switch and drywalling over it.

There is an extra switch on my wall that turns off one of the power outlets. I find it annoying since sometimes I accidentally turn of the power outlet. This extra switch has nothing to do with the ceiling lights for the room. I want to remove this switch so the outlet box will always be on. I am not an electrician and I am hoping someone can review my project for approval before I do it.

My plan is to cut the wires to the switch then connect the black wire to the white wire to complete the circuit. Then place the wires back in the electrical box and cover the electrical switch hole with drywall.

I would greatly appreciate a review of my plan.

Thanks.

Old 02-07-15, 08:44 PM
Super Moderator
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
You cannot cover any sort of splice or junction. It has to remain accessible. You can remove the switch, wire nut the connection, and put a blank cover over it, but you cannot cover it.

Old 02-07-15, 08:55 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
You also don't connect black to white.

White to white...black to black.

Old 02-07-15, 11:15 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,951 Upvotes on 3,544 Posts
Hey X..... if the OP only has two wires in the box then he has a switch loop. There will be only a white and black and they do get connected together.

Old 02-08-15, 02:22 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
You can place a switch guard over the switch so it cannot be turned off. Live junction boxes cannot be buried under the wall finish.

Old 02-08-15, 06:40 AM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts