How to wire two replaced switches

Old 02-09-15, 08:58 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to wire two replaced switches

Hey folks, super newbie here. I've learned how to switch out some old sockets and switches via google searches but that's all.

I am redoing my backsplash in my kitchen and wanted to replace the switches. The left goes to the disposal; the right to the light above the sink. The light originally had some clock/timer switch hooked up to the wires, but I removed them.

I pulled the old switches off and noticed that the right red wire was capped, and two black ones were pigtailed (is that the correct term)? Though there are 4 black wires...and I uncapped them, now I don't know which were originally capped.

I am hooking regular switches to them, but have no idea which wires go to what. I've tried different attempts and failed miserably each time. My problem is, is that there are multiple sources of each color (especially black).
Included in the picture are 4 black wires (one has a cap on it), 2 red wires, 2 ground, and the white ones in the back that were capped off (I haven't messed with those).

Please help!Name:  box.jpg
Views: 437
Size:  41.4 KBName:  switch.jpg
Views: 414
Size:  32.4 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-15, 09:28 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,045 Votes on 969 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You're supposed to take pics before disconnecting the wiring.

I've taken your picture and numbered the wires.
Cable A is a three wire cable. Black is 1 and red is 2
Cable B is a two wire cable. Black is 3
Cable C is a two wire cable. Black is 4
Cable D is a three wire cable. Black is 5 and red is 6

Name:  box_NOW.jpg
Views: 252
Size:  41.6 KB

I see a cap on 5 and 6. Where these already on there ?
Do you have a safe way of measuring voltage.... meter or 2 wire tester ?

Old 02-10-15, 08:12 AM
A
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
... were pigtailed (is that the correct term)? ...