Subpanel or Service Upgrade

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-15, 11:03 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Subpanel or Service Upgrade

I currently have 150 amp service.

I have only two or three breakers free (Im not sure because a couple, in the past, have arced and i dont use that connection on the bus bar any more)

I plan to install a couple (maybe three) split system ACs this spring and probably an electric water heater (I currently have oil). So, I will need to use the last remaining spots and might even need a few more.

How do I determine if I need to upgrade to 200 amps or if I can just install a subpanel?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-15, 11:16 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
You need to do a "demand load calculation" to determine the actual required service size. There are many calculators on the web to help you if you Google for it.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-15, 12:05 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pretty confusing stuff out there!

But, this dumbs it down for me nicely.

Would you consider this to be reliable:
http://ask-the-electrician.com/resid....html#beginAdv
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-15, 01:12 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Yeah that one looks good. An important note that I'm not sure it makes clear is to use your heat or air conditioning load, whichever is larger in terms of electrical load. Both should not be included.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: