Unknown 70 amp breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-12-15, 04:13 PM
rayzzfish's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unknown 70 amp breaker

I have a electrical panel in my garage. It runs off a 100 amp breaker from my house. My house runs off a 200 amp breaker. There is a 70 amp breaker in the garage panel box. It does seem to hook up to any wires. I was wondering if I could take it out and put a 30 amp breaker. The reason for this is I bought a garage heater it runs off 240 volts with 30 amps. Any help or advice would be nice. I add a picture of my garage electrical panel. Thanks in advance. ..
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-12-15, 04:16 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Welcome to the forums! It may be a subpanel main controlling the remaining breakers. If you turned it off, does everything in the garage do dead? You may want to post a picture of the inside of the panel so we can see what you see. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-15, 05:43 PM
rayzzfish's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  GaragePanel (800x729).jpg
Views: 499
Size:  51.7 KB

I finally got it. Picture was to big... lol Thanks for having me...
 
  #4  
Old 02-12-15, 06:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is this is a detached garage? If so then tha may have been intended to be used as a backfed breaker to provide the required disconnect.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-12-15 at 08:13 PM.
  #5  
Old 02-12-15, 07:50 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,645
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
Is this is a detached garage? If so then that may have been intended to be used as a backfed breaker to provide the required disconnect.
Good point, Ray. The wires feeding the panel don't look big enough for 100 amps.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-12-15 at 08:14 PM. Reason: Typo in my quote.
  #6  
Old 02-12-15, 08:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I was also referring to the six throw rule. Anybody know if Canada also has the six throw rule? (More then six breakers a disconnect is needed if not in the same structure.)
 
  #7  
Old 02-12-15, 08:24 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,645
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
It looks like a 16 circuit main lug panel. I am sure that even in Canada a main breaker disconnect would surely be required, but I can't speak for sure about CEC requirements.
 
  #8  
Old 02-12-15, 08:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If this is a detached garage and Canada has the six throw rule and if the 70 was intended to be the disconnect the next question is why isn't it being used. But first is this a detached garage?
 
  #9  
Old 02-13-15, 07:24 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,645
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
I would also be interested in knowing the size wire feeding the panel which is being fed from a 100 amp breaker in the house panel. It doesn't appear to be big enough for 100 amps. I also don't see a GEC so maybe this garage isn't detached.
 
  #10  
Old 02-13-15, 07:24 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
My guess is that a previous owner used it to hookup some equipment like a welder or air compressor, or maybe even an illegal generator backfeed. Either way, it's unused now so I don't see any problem with swapping out the breaker for one to power your new heater.
 
  #11  
Old 02-13-15, 07:27 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
The ground at least looks to be copper -- I bet that's at least #4, which was legal at 100A not too long ago.
 
  #12  
Old 02-13-15, 03:22 PM
rayzzfish's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I bought this house a year ago. The garage is attached. I think the house was built first and the garage added many years after. In the garage you see where a window was.
Name:  20150213_135801 (450x800).jpg
Views: 231
Size:  29.7 KB Name:  Our new house.jpg
Views: 212
Size:  6.8 KB
 
  #13  
Old 02-13-15, 04:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Attached garage so all is correct if the wire sizes are correct for the breaker in the main panel. Yes, just swap out the 70 for a 30.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: