Constant Voltage Transformer Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-17-15, 04:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Question Constant Voltage Transformer Question

Separated From: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...gy-signal.html

Could a constant voltage transformer work for this? I'm having a similar issue with computer UPS that do not have pure sine wave output completely freaking out on generator power. The double conversion online units are the only ones that truly fix the issue, but are expensive. I can get three of units I linked for free from my father but don't have a clue if it will work or not. Anyone know?
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-17-15 at 07:00 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-17-15, 06:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,372
Jason, please start a new topic rather than piggy-backing onto an existing topic that is dealing with another matter.

Mod Note: Post has been separated.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-17-15 at 06:53 PM.
  #3  
Old 02-17-15, 08:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
It's not just the sine wave..... it's the harmonic distortion from inexpensive generator heads.
A constant voltage transformer system may just work. Sure couldn't hurt to give it a try especially when having access to a $350+ unit.

Let us know the results.
 
  #4  
Old 02-18-15, 11:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,372
Those Sola constant voltage transformers have a few quirks of their own. For one thing they have a fairly loud and annoying hum when energized (much more than a regular transformer) and they also have a significant input draw even with no output load. If those things are of no importance to you then absolutely try one. My gut sense is that it won't help in your situation.
 
  #5  
Old 02-18-15, 04:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2
I'm not sure of the brand of what my father has, the Sola's were meant as an example. My alternative to this is to wire up a dedicated 30 amp circuit and buy one of these. It will handle my entire networking closet, home theater and server, I'd just rather the free solution would work.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'