Moving irrigation well pump to range breaker


  #1  
Old 02-19-15, 07:45 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Moving irrigation well pump to range breaker

Hello,

I am installing a sub panel for pool equipment, but my load center is out of available slots for another two pole breaker, and already tandem (house built in '83). My idea was to move the 240v irrigation well pump to the range breaker to share. Theory being, the range and irrigation well pump will likely never be on at the same time. Only issue is, the range is on a two pole 50amp breaker, and the well pump is on a two pole 20amp breaker.

Is that OK? If not, what is the worst that can happen?

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 02-19-15, 08:04 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,974
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
It is not OK or anywhere close to code. The range needs to be a dedicated circuit.

The smaller wire could melt before the larger breaker ever came close to tripping.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-15, 08:10 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
We are planning to have an electrician change out the load center later this year for a larger one. $1,800 including running a dedicated circuit for microwave and fridge, and install 2 new ground rods.

I was hoping to do this sub-panel now. Damn. If the wire has not melted on a 20amp breaker, why would it melt on a 50amp breaker? I know I know. Trying to get the answer I want.
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-15, 08:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,897 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
If the wire has not melted on a 20amp breaker, why would it melt on a 50amp breaker?
Are you serious ??

20 amp wiring protected by a 50 amp circuit breaker will melt and catch fire before tripping the breaker. Don't do something you'll be sorry for later.
 
  #5  
Old 02-19-15, 08:32 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for stopping the stupid! Not sure why I did not think of this earlier, but the load center in the garage and the pool sub panel are on the same wall, separated by about 30'. I will just remove the well pump from the load center and swing it around in the attic and feed it into to the pool sub panel.

Problem solved!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: