200 amp breaker shuts off


  #1  
Old 02-21-15, 07:02 AM
rayzzfish's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
200 amp breaker shuts off

I was wondering what could shut off the 200 amp breaker. No other breakers went off but that one. Find it weird it never happen before. Thanks for the help...
 
  #2  
Old 02-21-15, 07:42 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,086
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Hi,was it tripped or did someone shut it off?how old is the breaker?
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 02-21-15, 07:47 AM
rayzzfish's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It just tripped off. How old I don't know. I bought the house a year ago...
 
  #4  
Old 02-21-15, 07:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,048 Upvotes on 3,631 Posts
Is the breaker hot or warm to the touch ?

What type of load do you have connected to your electric.....
all electric heating
electric water heating
etc.
 
  #5  
Old 02-21-15, 08:37 AM
rayzzfish's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No the breaker is not warm it's pretty cool.
As for load electric hot water, dryer, stove, 100 amps going to garage, gas furnace electric blower, dishwasher, fridge, plugs, and lights. That would be all I would say. As for the garage the 100 amp panel 240v pool pump, lights and out let's. That is about it..
 
  #6  
Old 02-21-15, 08:44 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,048 Upvotes on 3,631 Posts
It would appear that your load is nowhere near the limit of that breaker.

Is that 200A breaker the main and in the same panel with the other breakers ?
I'm leaning towards defective breaker.
 
  #7  
Old 02-21-15, 08:53 AM
rayzzfish's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes its the main 200 amp breaker. Where all the other breakers are..
 
  #8  
Old 02-21-15, 09:19 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Before giving up on the 200 amp main, turn the 100 amp breaker to the garage off and see if the main stays lit.
 
  #9  
Old 02-21-15, 09:28 AM
rayzzfish's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I tried that to turn off the 100 amp nothing happen. This is the first time it happen. Since I turned the 200 amp breaker back on nothing has happen. It's been four hours now.
 
  #10  
Old 02-22-15, 06:51 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,880
Received 187 Upvotes on 168 Posts
Yes its the main 200 amp breaker. Where all the other breakers are..
Who is the manufacturer? I have seen a lot of Crouse-Hinds 200A and the older Murray 200A main breakers go bad.
 
  #11  
Old 02-23-15, 05:50 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 434
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Is this the typeName:  IMAG0671-1-1.jpg
Views: 217
Size:  34.2 KB of C-H 200 amp main breaker your speaking on that is known to go bad?
 
  #12  
Old 02-23-15, 06:52 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,880
Received 187 Upvotes on 168 Posts
BINGO!! That's it! You can get a replacement breaker, I believe from Siemens or Murray, but I believe the wires enter from the right side. The breaker just inserts over some bus stabs and is secured by a couple screws. They are easy to change if the aluminum bus hasn't been damaged except for the relocation of the lugs entering from just the right side causing wire length issues. It wouldn't hurt to find a source of a replacement breaker although I wouldn't buy one unless it might be later needed. Depending on the cost, you might want to start budgeting to upgrade the old aluminum bus panel.

I think this is the replacement, but I'd double check with the catalog number of the existing breaker before I bought one.

http://www.swgr.com/store/circuit-br...Fc9hfgod-UUAig
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: