Transformer attached to outlet


  #1  
Old 02-22-15, 03:53 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Transformer attached to outlet

I recently bought a new house and in the dining room there is a big transformer plugged in to the outlet and screwed in to the wall. A wire goes from the transformer under the carpet and I have to idea where it goes. Does anyone have an idea what this might be for?
Name:  transformer.jpg
Views: 387
Size:  26.3 KB
 
  #2  
Old 02-22-15, 04:09 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Door Chime maybe ?

Unplug it and see what doesn't work!
 
  #3  
Old 02-22-15, 05:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Not likely doorbell. Most likely for the alarm panel.
 
  #4  
Old 02-22-15, 05:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
Too tacky of a location for alarm. My guess..... LED or LV lighting.

Pull the transformer out of the wall and post what it says on it.
?? vac or ?? vdc ?? amps
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-15, 05:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It appears to be the alarm panel. When I unplug it, the alarm panel is still lit, but it says "No AC".
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-15, 06:27 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Many alarms have battery backups.
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-15, 06:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
Wow.... some alarm installation. That transformer should be plugged in an out-of-the-way location.
 
  #8  
Old 02-25-15, 10:21 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
And according to the O/P it runs under the carpet.
 
  #9  
Old 02-25-15, 02:19 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
I question if the wiring runs "under" the carpet as it looks to me like the jerk of an installer drilled a hole through the carpet into the basement and ran the cable. I could be wrong.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: