Two Lights, Two Switches, One Power Source

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-22-15, 04:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Two Lights, Two Switches, One Power Source

Hello,

I am looking for info on how to wire an overhead light and switch in each of my two upstairs bedrooms. Here is what I have right now:

Bedroom #1

Power comes from panel, through attic, to overhead light (12-2)

Bedroom #2

Power comes to overhead light from light in bedroom #1 (12-2)

Right now there are no switches to turn off the overhead light in either bedroom. Ceiling fans with remote controls were used by the previous owner.

I would like to add a switch in each bedroom to control the overhead light in each room. I have searched for a wiring diagram, but have not found anything for my specific situation. Any help is very appreciated.

Thanks,

Lamont
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-22-15, 04:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Either you will need to run additional cable or use a conventional remote or a piezo electric remote switch. Lightning Switch | PulseSwitch Systems, LC
 
  #3  
Old 02-22-15, 04:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
I would like to run additional cable, but I am unsure of what connections to make. I looked at a bunch of wiring diagrams online, but couldn't find anything that fit my exact situation. From my research, I believe I need to run 12-3 cable to my wall switches, but I am unsure. Do you know of any wiring diagrams to fit my situation? Thanks for the response.

Lamont
 
  #4  
Old 02-22-15, 05:35 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Since you just want a ceiling light in each room, no fans, you don't require 12/3.
Here's what I advise:

Keep the existing cables as they are: #1 ceiling from panel, #2 ceiling fed from #1 ceiling.
To add switches:
Run a cable from #1 ceiling box to new switch location.
Run a cable from #2 ceiling box to that room's new switch location. (12/2)

You can post back for wiring after cables are ran. It's pretty easy.

Use plastic old work boxes for new switch locations. The hole you cut for old work boxes gives you some room to work inside wall when pulling a new cable down.

****Edit - run 12-3 w/g down to switches. This will be up to current code. The switch wiring will still be simple.
 

Last edited by Handyone; 02-22-15 at 05:50 PM. Reason: 12/3
  #5  
Old 02-22-15, 06:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thank you for the response. I will definitely use 12-3 for the switches. I have mounted plastic work boxes for the switches and drilled holes through the top-plate for the 12-3 down to the switches from the lights in the attic.
I am running into trouble when it comes to connecting the cable for the switch (12-3) to the existing wiring for bedroom #1's overhead light. And then the switch for bedroom #2. Can you give me a brief rundown of what should be connected to what? Thank you again.

Lamont
 
  #6  
Old 02-22-15, 06:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Actually if this is a switch loop to meet 2011 or later NEC you will need 3-conductor cable to meet code.

Name:  Sw_Loopb-2_zps34a226fa.jpg
Views: 3816
Size:  22.2 KB
 
  #7  
Old 02-22-15, 06:50 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Ceiling #1 has source power.
- Connect white source to: #2 ceiling power white; switch white; light fixture white
- Connect black source to: #2 ceiling power black; switch red
- Connect black from switch to light fixture black
- #1 switch: Red to one terminal, black to other terminal, white capped

Ceiling #2
- Connect white from #1 ceiling source to: switch white; light fixture white
- Connect black from #1 ceiling source to: switch red
- Connect black from switch #2 to light fixture black
- #2 switch: Red to one terminal, black to other terminal, white capped
 
  #8  
Old 02-22-15, 07:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thank you very much for the responses, I really appreciate it.


Lamont
 
  #9  
Old 02-22-15, 07:39 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
You're welcome and post back if you run into trouble.

I'm originally from Ohio BTW Little North of Columbus. I hear it's a little chilly

Good luck.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'